Tuesday 16 January 2018

Shelmaliers see off Mary's

Late surge does the trick

Jason Goodison

Shelmaliers staged a mini second-half fight back to out-point opponents St. Mary's in their Enniscorthy Electrical Wholesale Junior Hurling Championship Quarter Final encounter on Sunday in Taghmon.

Shelmaliers 0-14 St. Mary's 0-12

In a game where scoring was dominated by frees, the Curracloe men dug deepest to book themselves a place in the Championship Semi-Final.

Shelmaliers, who scored just five times from play, found themselves under pressure in the opening exchanges and could call themselves lucky to be just three points behind at the interval.

Freetaker Michael Feeney kept their scoreboard ticking but greatest credit must go to goalkeeper Fergal Hynes who pulled off a remarkable point-blank save from the hurl of Paul Kinsella in the 20thminute. Kinsella was proving to be Rosslare's greatest threat. Battling though the gale, he contributed with six of St. Mary's eight first half points.

Looking back, Rosslare will highlight a 23 minute period in the second half where they failed to score as their reason for downfall.

While Shelmaliers utilised their substitutions to good effect with the introduction of Eoghan Nolan and James Cash, Nolan scoring two vital minors in the final ten minutes. St. Mary's had increased their lead to five after the restart before a concession of Feeney dead balls clawed Shells back on level terms.

Nolan had briefly edged his side into the lead in the 55th minute but when Kinsella pointed from wide four minutes later the game looked destined for extra-time.

It was then that Nolan pointed his second, impressively from a narrow angle of the left. Moments later, Feeney added his tenth of the game but his first from open play, to secure a hard fought two point win for Shelmaliers.

Shelmaliers: Fergal Hynes; Eoin Fitzgerald, Kevin O'Leary (capt.), Eoin O'Leary; Aaron O'Neill (0-1), Barry O'Connor, Cian Manley; Denis Kelly, Graham Staples; Shane Griffith, Emmet O'Leary, Niall Murphy; Michael Feeney (0-10, 9 frees), Stephen Whelan, Chris Gordon (0-1). Subs: James Cash for Whelan (34), Eoghan Nolan (0-2) for Murphy (37), Michael Kelly for Griffith (47). Also Jody Donoghue, Aodhan Foley.

St. Mary's (Rosslare): Niall Walsh; Emmet Byrne, Conor Cafferkey, Stephen Cogley, Richard Bent, David Murphy, Larry Morrissey; Tiernan Rossiter, Gearoid Byrne (0-1); Ian Kavanagh (0-1), Robert Butler (0-1, capt.), Peter Carr; Oscar Pitt (0-1), Paul Kinsella (0-8, 7 frees), Ultan Quirke. Also Eamonn Power, Conall Grant, Derek Brohan, Sean Finan, Chris Welsh, Philip Lambert, Barry Quirke, Shea Boggan, Naomhan Rossiter.

Referee: Bob Tracey (Clongeen).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links