Wednesday 16 October 2019

Shels face mammoth task

Senior Championship Final Shelmalier V Kilmore
Senior Championship Final Shelmalier V Kilmore

The Shelmalier lady footballers take on the mighty Foxrock Cabinteely in the semi final of the senior Leinster club championship in Hollymount on Saturday next at 2pm.

This is a mammoth task that faces the Wexford champions against the star studded Metropolitan's that has county players listed in their substitutes. They had five players on the Dublin team that recently lost the senior All Ireland final to Cork in addition to having county players from Meath, Westmeath, Roscommon, Wicklow, Tipperary, Wicklow, Mayo and Louth.

These sides met in the 2012 Leinster final which the Shels girls won by the narrowest of margins courtesy of a crucial second half Leona Tector goal and a great display of disciplined defending. The Dublin girls retain eleven of that starting fifteen with the remaining four listed among the substitutes. Shelmalier for their part have undergone considerable transition with only seven of the starting fifteen featuring with one starting on the bench. Five of the substitutes of 2012 step up to the first fifteen.

Foxrock captured the Dublin title with a 3-10 to 2-1 victory over St Brigids of Blanchardstown whilst the Shels girls overcame Kilmore on a scoreline of 5-6 to 1-9 in the Wexford final. They overcame the Meath champions St Ultans in the first round of the Leinster championship three weeks ago on a 6-14 to 0-6 margin but face a huge step up in standards for this game.

The Shels girls will have to show their renowned resilience and scoring prowess to stay in touch with the Dublin champions in the hope to progressing to the next round.

Shelmalier Panel: Deirdre Fox, Ceara O'Brien, Maeve Quill, Lisa Quill, Ciara Neville, Ciara Corrigan, Catherine Doyle, Roisin Murphy, Shauna Murphy, Leona Tector, Kate Kelly, Aisling Traynor, Kellie Kearney, Michelle Doyle, Deirdre McMahon, Eadaoin Fitzgerald, Eleanor Neville, Michelle Hearne, Deirdre Byrne, Sarah Harding Kenny, Michelle Harding, Enya Byrne, Kate Stafford, Nikki Scallan, Megan Scallan, Geraldine Doolan, Leanne Corrigan.

Foxrock Panel: Carol Manning, Nuala Mohan, Aedin Murray, Sinead Delahunty, Sinead Goldrick, Sarah Brophy, Fiona Claffey, Maria Candon, Laura Nerney, Niamh Collins, Anne Marie Murphy, Ciara O'Riordan, Amy Ring, Hannah Noonan, Amy Connolly, Ellen Dooley, Ciara Crotty, Niamh Ryan, Lorna Fusciardi, Laurie Ahern, Ciara Murphy, Ciara Cooke, Elaine Bolger, Sinead Loughran, Eimear O'Herlihy, Hannah Foster Ryan, Hannah O'Neill, Tarah O'Sullivan, Olivia Crossan, Emma McDonagh.

Wexford People

Most Read