Tuesday 20 February 2018

Shels seconds too sharp

Colm Lambert in St Patrick's Park

The Shelmaliers second string proved too sharp for Monageer-Boolavogue in this Enniscorthy Electrical Wholesale Junior hurling championship Group A tie at St. Patrick's Park on Friday, as they led throughout the hour and never looked in any real danger of being caught.

Shelmaliers 1-19 Monageer-Boolavogue 1-12

The closest it came was in the run up to half-time, when a Monageer-Boolavogue goal through David Breen and a pointed free from Ed Rowsome narrowed a 1-9 to 0-5 gap to just three points (1-9 to 1-6) at the break.

But while they would have hoped to continue that momentum after the interval, the opposite turned out to be the case, as the Shels set about stretching their lead and so a contest was never really on the cards.

The Shels goal that set up the cruise had come from the impressive Jody Donohoe on 14 minutes, thanks to a good through ball from Páraic O'Leary, and overall, their forwards were by far the most impressive of the two sets on display.

The ball was moved quicker and several good scores were taken, in contrast to Monageer-Boolavogue, whose starting forwards managed just one point from play in the entire match, and who were far too reliant on the free-taking prowess of Ed Rowsome to keep them any way in touch at all.

One of their better performers, Brian O'Loughlin, did weigh in with two good points from midfield, but so did his opposite number Willie O'Shaughnessy for the Shels. Páraic O'Leary and Conor Byrne were others who impressed for the winners and who shot some nice points along the way.

Shelmaliers: Paul McCleane; Cian Manley, Kevin O'Leary, Eoghan Fitzgerald; James Gordon, Denis Kelly, Cathal Gaule; Willie O'Shaughnessy (0-2), Ciarán Walsh; Michael Feeney (0-1), Páraic O'Leary (0-3), Emmet O'Leary; Jody Donohoe (1-1), Conor Byrne (0-9, 6 frees), Johnny Campbell. Subs. - Alan Griffith (0-1) for Manley, Conor Hearne (0-2) for Campbell.

Monageer-Boolavogue: Morgan Gahan; Seán Doran, Daire Turner, Ray O'Brien; Seán McCabe, Paul Gahan, Liam Gahan; Brian O'Loughlin (0-2), James Donohoe; Patrick Walsh, David Breen (1-0), Ed Rowsome (0-10, 9 frees); Cathal Walsh, Bryan Dwyer, Shane Gahan. Subs. - John O'Loughlin for Donohoe, Robbie Donnelly for Walsh, Conal Nolan for Turner.

Referee: Noel O'Connor (St. John's).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links