Tuesday 20 August 2019

Shels selected as top club

Hard work recognised

Brid Quigley accepting the St Martin award on behalf of her husband, Martin, from Tony Furlong
Brid Quigley accepting the St Martin award on behalf of her husband, Martin, from Tony Furlong
Tony Furlong presents the KIlmore Award to Colm Dillon
Doris Kelly of St Fintan's is presented with her award by Dave Ormonde and Sean Petit
Jim Ryan receives the St Anne's award from his brother, Thos, the district chairman
Larry O'Gorman, the Faythe Harriers award-winner, receives his award from Dave Ormonde
Sarsfields award-winner Noel Murphy with Andrew Nolan and James Flood
Seamus O'Leary (Shelmaliers chairman, centre) with Tony Doran (special guest), Andrew Nolan (co-treasurer), Colm Campbell (of sponsors Riverbank House Hotel) and Thos Ryan (district chairman)
Timmy O'Connor of ST Mary's (Rosslare) receives his Hall of Fame award from Tony Doran and Thos Ryan

There was a large crowd in attendance in the Riverbank House Hotel in Wexford for the annual Wexford District clubperson of the year awards dinner.

Recipients of the awards are chosen by their clubs in recognition of their commitment, dedication and hard work for the betterment of their individual clubs over many years.

Andrew Nolan, County Treasurer, congratulated all the recipients on receiving their awards and also noted the many successes of clubs from Wexford District in winning numerous county titles last year before wishing all every success in the year ahead.

Apologies were received from Diarmuid Devereux (County Chairman), Margaret Doyle (County Secretary), Mary Whelan (District Vice-President) and Micheál Martin (District Treasurer).

District Chairman Thos. Ryan welcomed the recipients and their families and acknowledged the tremendous honour being given by the clubs to their nominees.

Guest speaker was former Wexford inter-county stalwart Tony Doran who thanked the Wexford District committee for his invitation and remarked on the diversity in the nominees. He reflected on what the G.A.A. means to all and its contribution to the lives of so many in the overall community.

He went on to wish all Wexford District clubs continuing success but his wishes were conditional on them not playing his beloved Buffers Alley.

The coveted award of Wexford District club of the year was won by Shelmalier G.A.A. club who in 2014 won their first Wexford Senior county hurling title.

Wexford People

Most Read