Friday 23 August 2019

Shels were vastly superior

Shelmaliers 1-13 Buffers Alley 3-1

Brendan Furlong

Two points for Shelmaliers - that is about all one could take from this game as they totally dominated a weak Buffers Alley in this Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship Group B game in Monageer on Saturday.

Apart from an opening flourish from Buffers Alley, the Shels controlled the game as they proved the more creative side.

With a little more clinical finishing from the chances created their victory margin would have been far greater, as the Alley had little to offer in a poor quality game.

After Derek Walsh and John Farrell had exchanged opening points, Farrell's fourth-minute goal from a penalty after Ciarán Murphy was fouled gave the Alley a 1-1 to 0-1 lead.

That was as good as it got though, as the Shels quickly responded with a string of points through Dan Campbell, Seán Keane-Carroll, A.J. Lehane, Craig Parker (free), Liam Rockett and Derek Walsh (free) to lead by 0-8 to 1-1 at the interval.

Such was the Shels dominance that the Alley failed to score for the final 26 minutes of the half.

A point from Eoin O'Leary within minutes of the re-start, followed by a further Derek Walsh effort, extended their lead, while six minutes into the half Kevin O'Leary found the net, giving his side a 1-10 to 1-1 lead.

With only a feeble response from the Alley despite a John Lee Meyler goal at the end of the third quarter, the Shels dominance continued as they added further points through Walsh, Rockett and Lehane to maintain their comfortable lead.

The Alley had their third goal five minutes from the end, a penalty from substitute Cian Fortune, but it only helped to put a better complexion on the end result.

The Alley finished the half with 13 players as late on both John Farrell and John Lee Meyler were sent-off on black followed by red cards, having earlier received yellows.

Shelmaliers: Graham Lawler; Marc Walsh, Cathal Gaule, Joe Redmond; Dan Campbell (0-1), Conor Walsh, Craig Parker (0-1 free); Eoin O'Leary (0-1), A.J. Lehane (0-2); Brian O'Connor, Chris Gordon, Seán Keane-Carroll (0-1); Liam Rockett (0-2), Kevin O'Leary (1-1), Derek Walsh (0-4, 1 free). Subs. - Adam Howlin for O'Connor, Willie O'Shaughnessy for Keane-Carroll, Mark Flood for Rockett, Kyle Roche for M. Walsh.

Buffers Alley: Paudie Kinsella; Alan Doyle, Ross Donohoe, Gearóid O'Connor; Bobby Kenny, Domhnall McArdle, Kevin Roche; Ciarán Murphy, Seán Murphy; John Lee Meyler (1-0), John Farrell (1-1, 1-0 pen.), Andrew Kenny; Paul O'Leary, Willie Doran, Colm Og Doran. Subs. - Cian Fortune (1-0 pen.) for Og Doran, John Leacy for O'Connor.

Referee: John Carton (Monageer-Boolavogue).

Wexford People

Most Read