Friday 20 September 2019

Sinnott in stunning form

ML. Heffernan

Nicky Sinnott helped Rathgarogue-Cushinstown to finish top of Group B in the Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship when he fired home 2-5 in an accomplished display against Blackwater in Oylegate on Saturday.

Rathgarogue-Cushinstown 2-12 Blackwater 1-5

Both sides went into this encounter unbeaten and looking to claim top spot, and in the early exchanges it looked as if Blackwater might be the team to do so as they went four points ahead after eight minutes, with Conor Sutton taking a point and immediately afterwards setting up Paul Murphy for a well-taken goal.

But that was all the joy they would have in the first-half as Sinnott got his side off the mark with two points while another two came from Aaron Ryan and Matthew Cody.

The New Ross District side started to gain control midway through the half, and Sinnott could have had two goals but for two fine saves from Robert O'Leary.

Blackwater could only hold on for so long however, as Sinnott kicked 2-3 in the space of seven minutes, with help coming from Tadhg Cody to leave the eventual winners ahead by nine points at the break.

Blackwater had it all to do in the second-half but their efforts were in vain as Rathgarogue-Cushinstown were not going to let any slip-ups take place, and Sinnott and Ryan resumed the scoring after the break.

To their credit, the seasiders kept battling and looked as if they might be onto something when Sutton fired over three unanswered points midway through the half.

But all their hard work was outdone as their opponents were just too strong and Peadar Cody, Daire Bolger and Ryan finished things up to give their side a well-deserved win and first place in Group B.

The outcome means that Rathgarogue-Cushinstown will meet Tara Rocks in the quarter-final, while Blackwater will be pitted against Monageer-Boolavogue, with the games expected to be played on the weekend after next.

Rathgarogue-Cushinstown: Johnny Kelly; Bryan Cody, Paudie McGrath, Patrick Murphy; Jason Dunne, Ollie Bolger, Brian O'Neill; Matthew Cody (0-1), Bernard Furlong; Daire Bolger (0-1), Peadar Cody (0-1), Tadhg Cody (0-1); Nicky Sinnott (2-5, 0-2 frees, 0-2 '45s), Danny Martin Carroll, Aaron Ryan (0-3). Subs. - Jimmy Whelan for D. Bolger, Eoghain Whelan for B. Cody, Enda Doran for T. Cody, Neil Merrigan for Murphy.

Blackwater: Robert O'Leary; Kevin Purcell, Anthony Roche, Dec O'Leary; Diarmuid Murphy, Kevin O'Brien, Dean Whelan; Dean Wright, Michael Lillis; Denis Carroll, Kerril Sutton, Dylan Dixon; Paul Murphy (1-1), Joe Neville, Conor Sutton (0-4, 3 frees).

Referee: John Diskin (Bannow-Ballymitty).

Wexford People