Saturday 17 August 2019

Stars finish in third spot

Dave Devereux

Starlights made it three wins out of five in Group A of the Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship with a predictable drubbing of lowly Clonard in St. Patrick's Park on Friday.

Starlights 3-19 Clonard 1-6

It was pretty much shooting practice for the Enniscorthy outfit from the off and they had registered 1-12 by the time Dylan Carty got Clonard off the mark with a free in the 23rd minute.

The bad news for Clonard was that Starlights didn't let up and two well-taken late goals from Diarmuid Byrne rubbed further salt into the wounds after a dismal campaign to date for the Wexford town club who will now meet Castletown in the relegation final.

Spectators were looking in the same direction for most of the first-half as Starlights went on attack after attack, with Kevin Ryan, Conor Ronan, Paddy Connors and Diarmuid Byrne all picking off points before Pa O'Rourke struck for the opening goal in the 14th minute.

Starlights continued to dominate, with Killian Lett sauntering forward to get in on the scoring act as they led by 1-13 to 0-2 at half-time after Adam Baziz split the posts to reward a rare Clonard attack.

Clonard midfielder Mark O'Connor opened the second-half scoring but it wasn't a sign of things to come as Starlights coasted to a thoroughly convincing victory.

Paddy Connors added three points to his tally before substitute Jay Brennan gave Clonard a brief crumb of comfort when he found the net.

However, Starlights finished on a high with Diarmuid Byrne twice raising the green flag in the final ten minutes to ensure they finished third in the table.

Next up for the winners will be Volunteers in the quarter-final.

Starlights: Gary Murphy; Davy Morrissey, Ed Tobin, Joe Newe; Wayne Breen, Killian Lett (0-2), Declan Courtney; Richie Farrell, Kevin Ryan (0-2); Conor Ronan (0-4, 1 free), Eoin Quigley (0-1), Diarmuid Byrne (2-2); Paddy Connors (0-6), Stephen McGorman, Pa O'Rourke (1-1). Subs. - John Daly for Ronan, Oisín Dunbar for O'Rourke, Daniel O'Brien for Farrell, Declan Ruth (0-1) for Connors.

Clonard: Cillian Deane; Mick Kelly, Tomás Dwyer, Richie Cleary; Noel Beaver, Tony Hennessy, Aidan Roche; Mark O'Connor (0-2, 1 free), T.J. Doyle; Dylan Carty (0-2 frees), Derek Deane (0-1), Adam Baziz (0-1); John Tormey, Rory O'Connor, Tommy Smillie. Sub. - Jay Brennan (1-0) for Smillie.

Referee: Seamus Whelan (Oylegate-Glenbrien).

Wexford People

Most Read