Sunday 22 September 2019

Sweeney's goal inspires Monageer

A dominant second-half performance saw Monageer-Boolavogue secure their second win in Group A of the Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship, over Shelmaliers in Oylegate, writes Michael Heffernan.

Monageer-Boolavogue 1-14 Shelmaliers 1-4

The Enniscorthy District side were only three points ahead at half-time after playing with a strong breeze, but when Mick Sweeney grabbed a goal in the 35th minute, it proved to be the inspiration for them to take the game by the scruff of the neck.

The eventual winners got off to a great start when Niall O'Reilly opened the scoring and Damien Fenlon sent over two superb efforts before Craig McCabe got the Shelmaliers off the mark with a free in the eleventh minute. Cathal Walsh and Mick Sweeney added to the tally for Monageer-Boolavogue, with Kevin O'Leary doing the business at the other end.

The troublesome O'Leary was on hand in the 19th minute to put his side within a point when he ran onto a Liam Rockett delivery and fisted the ball to the net.

Sweeney and Walsh replied before Niall Finn's effort was kept out by Shels goalie Aodhán Foley.

Playing against the breeze, Monageer had a flying start in the new half. James Sweeney took a nice point before cleverly setting up his brother, Mick, to finish to the net from close range for that vital goal.

Monageer-Boolavogue: Seán McCabe; John Darcy, Chris Daly, Morgan Gahan; Niall O'Reilly (0-1), Brian O'Loughlin, Paddy Breen; Conal Nolan, Seán Roche; Mick Sweeney (1-4), Cathal Walsh (0-5, 3 frees, 1 '45), James Gahan; Damien Fenlon (0-2), Niall Finn, James Sweeney (0-1). Subs. - Ian Hawkins for Nolan, Matthew Dunne (0-1) for Finn, Liam Gahan for O'Reilly, Stephen Leacy for J. Gahan, Denis Walsh for J. Sweeney.

Shelmaliers: Aodhán Foley; Cathal Gaule, Neal Rossiter, Eoghan Fitzgerald; Craig Parker, Niall Murphy, Liam Rockett; Eoin O'Leary, Cian Manley; Kevin O'Leary (1-1), Craig McCabe (0-2, 1 free), Chris Gordon; Stephen McGuire, Conor Byrne, Stephen Rossiter. Subs. - Conor Hearne (0-1) for Rossiter, Brian Doyle for Rockett, Mark Flood for McGuire, Chris Kehoe for Parker, David Shiggins for Byrne.

Referee: Seamus Whelan (Oylegate-Glenbrien).

Wexford People

Most Read