Wednesday 23 October 2019

Tasty Taghmon attack wreaks havoc

Dean Goodison

Taghmon-Camross used a howling first-half breeze to blow away the challenge of hosts Horeswood in the New Ross District Under-21 football Roinn 1 championship semi-final on Saturday.

Taghmon-Camross 6-9 Horeswood 1-6

The victors blitzed into a 4-5 to 0-2 lead at the interval and never looked back against a Horeswood side which couldn't match their opponents' direct running and crisp inter-play.

In truth, the scoreline could have been even more lopsided after the first 30 minutes. The slickness of the Taghmon-Camross attacking waves were often matched by the finish, but a few times a sloppy end to a flowing move held the finalists back.

There was nothing sloppy about how Pierce Doyle flashed to the roof of the net from Ian Carty's searching ball in the third minute. However, the same duo were denied a minute later when Kevin Murphy got down to make a solid stop.

A pair of Stephen O'Gorman points, and an Ian Carty effort, were on the board when Darren Carty drove through the heart of the Horeswood defence for goal number two. No sooner was the ball back in play than Doyle was in for his second goal when making the most of Stephen Stafford's mis-hit shot.

In between an Ian Carty brace, Eric Banville nailed his first free of a 1-6 total in a superb individual performance. Another would follow but Taghmon-Camross ended the half 4-5 to 0-2 in front courtesy of Stephen O'Gorman's first major.

Any hope of a wind-aided fightback ended when Johnny Murphy added 1-1 for Taghmon-Camross within five minutes of the re-start. Yet, Horeswood did have their best spell of the game in the third quarter and struck 1-1 themselves through Banville.

Showing shooting form that big brother P.J. would be happy to match, Banville added three booming points from play in the final quarter. Meanwhile, at the other end O'Gorman punched his second goal and Barry Og McGrath and Luke Sinnott pointed as Taghmon-Camross coasted over the finish line.

It's sure to be a superb District decider with two entertaining sides matching up for a place in the county semi-final. St. James' and their host of Seniors might go in as favourites but the Ramsgrange side should underestimate Taghmon-Camross at their peril.

Taghmon-Camross: Jack Dunne; David O'Keeffe, Jack Murphy, James Carroll; Stephen Stafford, Darren Carty (1-0), Conor O'Keeffe; Richard Stafford (capt.), Stephen O'Gorman (2-2); Barry Og McGrath (0-1), Ian Carty (0-3), Luke Sinnott (0-1); Stuart Murphy, Pierce Doyle (2-1), Johnny Murphy (1-1). Subs. - Anthony Doyle for D. O'Keeffe (36), O'Keeffe for I. Carty, temp. (42-50), O'Keeffe for S. O'Gorman (50), O'Gorman for P. Doyle, inj. (54).

Horeswood: Kevin Murphy; Emmet Daniels, Brian Kehoe, Kevin Parker; Cian Gleeson, Seán Stafford, Ryan Harris; David O'Shea (capt.), Brian Norris; Colm Kehoe, Colin Nolan, Eric Banville (1-6, 0-3 frees); Damien Hearn, Adam Cooney, P.J. Jackman. Subs. - David Furlong for Jackman (31), Jim Gleeson for Cooney (38).

Referee: Eric Molloy (St. James').

Wexford People

Most Read