Monday 16 September 2019

Three golden goals give title to Bannow-Ballymitty

The successful Bannow-Ballymitty squad
The successful Bannow-Ballymitty squad

Brendan Furlong

Goals proved decisive as Bannow-Ballymitty turned in a storming first-half to lay the foundations for an eventual seven-point victory over Tinryland in this Under-14 Division 4 girls' Shield final played at the Ferns Centre of Excellence on Sunday.

Bannow-Ballymitty 3-1 Tinryland (Carlow) 0-3

Both teams were quickly into their stride, particularly the south Wexford girls who, after a number of impressive attacks, broke the deadlock as early as the second minute when Emily Cahill shot across the 'keeper, Katie Hickey, from ten metres into the opposite corner of the net to give her side the lead they were never subsequently to lose.

While playing into a stiff breeze the Tinryland girls still managed to launch some attacks of their own, with both Kate Kelly and Lauren Dunbar going close with point attempts. Eventually it was Kelly who found the target with a point from an acute angle to reduce the deficit to 1-0 to 0-1.

The play continued to be open and fast, with some quality fielding and kicking, and after ten minutes the Wexford girls managed to increase their lead with a fine goal from Shannon Anglim.

Credit to Tinryland as they kept on battling, leading to a pointed free from Aine Fahy, but one minute from the interval Aisling Waters kicked over a fine point to leave the eventual winners with a 2-1 to 0-2 interval lead.

The opening ten minutes of the second-half failed to produce a score, although Tinryland did a lot of the attacking, but they came up against some staunch Bannow-Ballymitty defending.

An eleventh-minute Sara Carbery point left the scoreline 2-1 to 0-3, but one minute from the end, Bannow-Ballymitty secured the title with a fine individual goal from Jane Rossiter.

Bannow-Ballymitty: Eleanor Aldridge; Maxine Byrne, Carley Cooney, Clara Hillis; Leah Whelan, Ciara Anglim, Shannon Anglim (1-0); Rebecca Stafford, Aisling Waters (0-1); Siobhán Rossiter, Niamh Millar, Emily Cahill (1-0); Jessie Egan, Jane Rossiter (1-0), Rebecca Holmes. Subs. - Aoife White, Danielle Kinsella, Teresa Reville, Rebecca Roche, Courtney Browne.

Tinryland: Katie Hickey; Ciara Fitzpatrick, Maeve O'Sullivan, Niamh Murphy; Eimear O'Toole, Niamh Crowley, Emma O'Neill; Aine Fahy (0-1 free), Cathy Houlihan; Kate O'Sullivan, Sinéad Hayden, Lauren Dunbar; Shona Coughlan, Katie Kelly (0-1), Sara Carbery (0-1). Subs. - Ella Hendricken, Lily Fitzhenry, Holly McGrath.

Referee: Mag Doherty (Shelmalier).

Wexford People

Most Read