Friday 17 November 2017

Three names in for Chair

Devereux’s five-year tenure to end at county Convention

With Diarmuid Devereux having completed his five-year term of office, Wexford G.A.A. will elect a new Chairman to lead them into 2017 at their annual county Convention in the Ferrycarrig Hotel on Monday, December 12, writes Brendan Furlong.

When nominations closed on Friday evening last, three candidates for the position of Chairman had been received from the clubs: Derek Kent (Taghmon-Camross), Noel O'Keeffe (St. Anne's, Rathangan) and Arthur Quinn (Askamore-Kilrush).

As it stands at present it looks like a three-way contest is in store, but one could see this change in the final hours before delegates meet at county Convention.

The position of Vice-Chairman should be quite interesting. Both O'Keeffe, the current office holder, and Quinn are nominated and are likely to stand should either or both fail in the race for Chairman. Also nominated is Micheál Martin (Volunteers).

O'Keeffe is also the current Coiste na nOg Treasurer, while he has one year to complete in his five-year term as Vice-Chairman.

Martin was elected Vice-Chairman five years ago, but stepped aside one year later during a period when the G.A.A. in the county was working through a financial crisis.

This arose during the tenure of the previous administration, many of whom are still part of the management set-up, having been involved in the Glenbrien and Ferns land transactions which ultimately led to the crisis.

Rapparees-Starlights club member Maria Nolan has informed County Board she will not be seeking election to the position of P.R.O., vacated by Rory Murphy, having completed five years in the position, and this means that P.J. Howlin (Duffry Rovers), the current Coiste na nOg P.R.O., will be elected.

Meanwhile, Cathal Byrne (Development Officer), Andrew Nolan (Treasurer) and Tony Dempsey (Central Council) are all returned unopposed.

Aoife O'Connor (Shamrocks) is the sole nomination to replace Mary Foley as Assistant Secretary.

There are two nominations for the Coaching Officer post to replace P.J. O'Farrell, namely Diarmuid Devereux and Bobby Goff, the Coiste na nOg Chairman.

'I'm unlikely to stand. It would be like bringing a lamb to the slaughter,' Goff told this reporter in an apparent reference to the likely vote-gathering strength of Devereux.

There are ten nominations to fill the two positions on Leinster Council: Liam Curtis (Ballyhogue), Ger Carthy (Our Lady's Island), Tony Dempsey (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy), Mary Foley (Buffers Alley), Dermot Howlin (Bannow-Ballymitty), Joe Kelly (Naomh Eanna), Rory Murphy (HWH-Bunclody), Noel O'Keeffe (St. Anne's), Arthur Quinn (Askamore-Kilrush) and Thos. Ryan (St. Anne's).

Leinster Convention delegates (five): Liam Curtis, Margaret Doyle, Ger Doyle, Mary Foley, Breda Jacob, Denis Nolan, Thos. Ryan.

All-Ireland Congress (three): Michael Dwyer, Ger Doyle, Bobby Goff, Dermot Howlin, Breda Jacob, Micheál Martin, Denis Nolan, Joe O'Shaughnessy, Thos. Ryan.

On the Coiste na nOg front, it's believed that all the main officers will be returned unopposed at their annual county Convention.

Wexford People

Promoted Links