Wednesday 18 September 2019

Travers hits late leveller

ML. Heffernan in Ferns

A last-minute goal from Peter Travers helped to salvage a point for Naomh Éanna as they earned a draw with Duffry Rovers in the final round of Group A in the Joyces Expert Intermediate 'A' football championship in Ferns on Sunday.

Duffry Rovers 2-11 Naomh Eanna 3-8

The draw was enough to see Duffry Rovers take top spot in the group and leaves the Gorey town side in third position.

The Duffry - who will now meet Geraldine O'Hanrahans - looked stronger throughout the game, working the ball up the field well and hitting some well-taken scores.

But Naomh Éanna's ability to score goals kept them in it and that's the reason why they eventually made it a draw late in the game.

Eamonn Doyle opened the scoring for the Duffry in the first minute but Travers grabbed the first of his two goals with a well-taken goal shortly afterwards in his side's first attack.

The Enniscorthy District side took control of proceedings from there and went four points clear with ten minutes remaining in the half with points from Tim Bowler, Craig Casey and Gavin and Stephen Watchorn plus a goal from Matthew Flynn-O'Connor.

But the Gorey side finished the half strongest with three well-taken scores from William Cullen and a goal just before the break form Pádraig Doyle which left them ahead by two points.

Gearóid Cullen and David O'Brien stretched this lead shortly after the break but this was as good as it was to get for their side as they failed to score again until the 60th minute, with the Duffry taking over proceedings for the remainder of the half.

Naomh Éanna then pounced late in the game with Travers grabbing his second goal and Pádraig Doyle adding a point with the last kick of the game.

Naomh Éanna: Kenneth Byrne; Seamus O'Donnell, Simon Doran, Brendan Travers (0-1); Dara McDonald, John Stafford, Aodhán Doyle; John O'Brien, Kevin Harrington; Gearóid Cullen (0-1), Pádraig Doyle (1-1), Seán Doyle; William Cullen (0-4, 2 frees), David O'Brien (0-1 free), Peter Travers (2-0). Subs. - Darragh Cullen for Stafford, Darragh Hughes for McDonald, Conor Hughes for B. Travers, John O'Brien (Cork) for G. Cullen.

Duffry Rovers: Bobby Larkin; James Nolan, Paul Nolan, Conor Jordan; Craig Casey (0-1), Feargal Kenny, James Codd; Eamonn Doyle (0-1), Stephen Watchorn (0-1); Tim Bowler (0-3 frees), Johnny Flynn-O'Connor (0-2, 1 free), Aidan Byrne (0-2); Matthew Flynn-O'Connor (1-0), Joe Coleman, Gavin Watchorn (1-1). Subs. - Thomas Dunne for J. Nolan, Liam Pender for Jordan.

Referee: Paul Browne (Clonee).

WALKOVER: Kilanerin conceded a walkover to Réalt na Mara in the game scheduled for St. Patrick's Park on Sunday.

Wexford People