Sunday 19 November 2017

U-16 ladies lose opener

It was always going to be a tough ask for Wexford against Westmeath in their opening round fixture in the Leinster ladies' football Under-16 championship in Kilanerin recently.

Westmeath 1-16 Wexford 3-7

The Slaneysiders had several key players involved in an energy-sapping schools semi-final just 24 hours earlier and lost key midfielder Julia Dempsey to an injury in the same game.

It proved to be a little too much for the hosts to overcome as Westmeath, inspired by a superb performance from Sarah Dillon, kicked an array of scores to take victory in the round-robin opener.

The visitors flew out of the blocks and into a three-point lead but Wexford hit back when Ciara Banville found the net in the eighth minute.

A brilliant left-footed score from Emily Coakley gave Wexford the lead momentarily but two quickfire points from Westmeath moved the midlanders into a 0-5 to 1-1 lead after the first quarter.

Wexford opened up their biggest lead when Emily Coakley's point was followed by a fantastically taken goal by St. Anne's starlet Anne Marie Bennett.

However, Westmeath responded immediately with their only major, scored by Dillon.

Points for Bennett and Coakley kept the scoreboard ticking over but Westmeath went in ahead by four at the break (1-11 to 2-4) after a string of scores.

The hosts opened up the second-half in determined fashion and managed to draw level following an excellent 1-1 from Emily Coakley.

Yet, Westmeath didn't let the setback damage their mojo and they responded with a pair of points from Dillon.

Wexford began to tire as the game entered the final quarter but did manage to add further scores from Rachel Bennett and Coakley. However, the visitors finished in the driving seat as they picked off the scores required to stay ahead.

Wexford: Sally Walker; Michelle Carty, Orla Fortune, Imogen Fanning; Katlyn Whelan-Kinsella, Sarah Harding-Kenny, Niamh Dunne; Rachel Bennett (0-1), Ciara O'Connor; Ciara Banville (1-0), Ann Marie Bennett (1-1), Ciara Roban; Lauren Murphy, Emily Coakley (1-5), Britney Conroy. Subs. - Shereen Hamilton for Conroy, Aisling Halligan for Fanning, Ciara Bridges for Roban, Olivia McDonald for R. Bennett, Lauren Roche for A.M. Bennett, also Cara Clarke, Geri-Rose O'Connor, Kate O'Loughlin, Mikaela Lanigan, Emma O'Connor, Sarah Lynch, Julia Dempsey.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links