Saturday 21 September 2019

U-16s exit on high note

Wexford exited the All-Ireland Under-16 'A' camogie championship with arguably their best showing of the season as they beat Tipperary in The Ragg on Sunday, coming from eight points down at half-time to guarantee themselves third spot in Group 2.

Wexford 4-10 Tipperary 3-10

Lettie Whelan was the Wexford heroine with a second-half hat-trick, but the visitors got good performances from all over the park. They went player-for-player on the hosts and in the long run it paid dividends.

The basis for the win was the strong centrefield pairing of Ciara O'Connor and Sarah Harding-Kenny. In defence Kaitlyn Whelan-Kinsella anchored the full-back line superbly while Máire O'Rourke was excellent at wing-back.

There were also strong showings either side of Whelan in the half-forward line, with Ella O'Connor and Anais Curran putting in influential performances. However, it didn't all go Wexford's way in the opening period.

With Eimear McGrath picking off a trio of points, added to by goals from Caroline Brown and Casey Hennessy, Tipperary opened up a clear advantage. Whelan registered three of her side's points while Anais Curran also scored as the visitors struggled to keep in touch.

However, a quick start to the second period, with Whelan grabbing a pair of majors, brought the Slaneysiders back into the tie. When Emma Sweeney added a goal, Wexford were on the verge of their best win of the season.

Both Ciara O'Connor and Curran got on the scoresheet during the period, but as the minutes ticked away, an exchange of majors from Whelan and Hennessy follow and left Wexford three clear at the full-time whistle.

This side has improved as the season has gone on. Most will step up to Minor now where that improvement will need to continue to be competitive in the Under-18 grade for the next couple of seasons.

Wexford: Mikaela Lanigan; Anna Hennessy, Kaitlyn Whelan-Kinsella, Alannah Davis; Máire O'Rourke, Lara Conran, Hannah Keating; Ciara O'Connor (0-1), Sarah Harding-Kenny; Ella O'Connor, Lettie Whelan (capt., 3-7, 0-6 frees), Anais Curran (0-2); Emma Sinnott, Kate Devereux, Emma Sweeney (1-0). Subs. - Cora Doyle for Devereux, Aisling Halligan for Davis, Ciara Bridges for Sweeney, Saoirse Dunne for Harding-Kenny, also Eimer Byrne, Naoimh Kehoe, Anna Mulligan, Oonagh Barden, Orla Fitzgerald, Imogen Fanning, Caitlin Carroll, Molly Power, Orla Fortune, Nora Higgins.

Tipperary (squad): Niamh Sheridan, Anna Gavin, Saoirse Ryan, Thea Curtin, Niamh Long, Gemma Fox, Laura Shinners, Caoimhe Perdue, Rachel O'Dwyer, Sarah Delaney, Niamh Keane, Eimear McGrath (0-7, 5 frees), Karin Blair, Rosanna O'Donnell, Caroline Brown (1-1), Kellie Quirke, Emma Flanagan, Casey Hennessy (2-2), Aine O'Dwyer, Courtney Quinn.

Referee: John Dolan (Cork).

Wexford People

Most Read