Saturday 17 August 2019

Under-16s exit title race


Wexford bowed out of the All-Ireland Under-16 'A' camogie championship with another heavy defeat, this time at the hands of previously win-less Limerick in Ballingarry on Sunday.

Limerick 3-15 Wexford 1-7

The Slaneysiders needed victory and a prayer to keep their hopes of progressing to the last four alive after going down in their first two outings, but that was never on the cards after Limerick got off to a flying start.

The Treaty girls went 0-4 to nil ahead courtesy of points from Liz Carmody (three) and Aoife Curtin. Things got worse for Wexford when Aine Reynolds got in to goal for the hosts in the 13th minute.

Trailing by 1-4 to no score after the first quarter, Wexford grabbed their first point through an Aoife Curran free in the 19th minute.

After Curtin pointed for Limerick, Becky Walsh knocked over a placed ball in response.

However, Limerick ended the half with four consecutive minors to take a 1-9 to 0-2 lead in at the change-around.

A second Reynolds goal followed shortly after half-time as the lead grew further.

Wexford did pick up points from Curran and Clodagh Jackman late in the third quarter, but Limerick added their third goal through Bríd Flanagan in the 45th minute.

At 3-12 to 0-4 down, and with the influence of several changes, Wexford played their best stuff. Siofra Doyle found the net, fellow substitute Laura Kelly grabbed a brace of points, and Walsh registered again to put a slightly more respectable slant on the scoreboard at full-time.

Wexford still have one final game to go in Group 2, at home to Tipperary on Sunday when they will be playing for pride against the side that may be the best in the group.

Wexford: Lisa Bates; Lauren Finn, Aine Murphy, Kaitlyn Whelan-Kinsella; Orla Sinnott, Emma Leacy, Alannah Davis; Chloe Davis, Orla Molloy; Jessie Harding, Aoife Curran (0-2 frees), Clodagh Jackman (0-1); Lettie Whelan, Becky Walsh (0-2, 1 free), Orla Crowe. Subs. - Larah Campbell for Davis, Siofra Doyle (1-0) for Whelan, Laura Kelly (0-2) for Crowe, Muireann O'Connor for Whelan-Kinsella, Aoife Dunne for Molloy.

Limerick: Leah O'Carroll; Orla Ryan, Caoimhe O'Brien, Stacey Flynn; Jane Kirby, Liz Carmody (0-6 frees), Sophie O'Callaghan; Ciara O'Brien, Leah Kelly; Clodagh Kelly, Bríd Flanagan (1-0), Laura Stack (0-3); Aine Reynolds (2-0), Dearbhla Egan, Aoife Curtin (0-6).

Referee: Mike Sheehan (Cork).

Wexford People

Most Read