Tuesday 12 December 2017

Under-16s run riot

Dean goodison

Britney Conroy scoring her goal in the runaway win over Wicklow
Britney Conroy scoring her goal in the runaway win over Wicklow

A spectacular ten-goal haul saw Wexford past Wicklow for their second consecutive win in the Leinster ladies' football Under-16 championship at St. Patrick's Park on Saturday.

Wexford 10-13 Wicklow 0-6

It proved to be one-way traffic from the off for the Slaneysiders who were purring all over the field with fantastic performances throughout the team. The hosts attacked and defended as a team with some fantastic inter-play leading to several superb goals.

Ann Marie Bennett opened the scoring with a point in the second minute, a lead that Emily Coakley doubled. Shortly after Lauren Murphy had a shot saved, Britney Conroy cut in from the left and drove past Amy Kavanagh.

Coakley added a free in the seventh minute before Ciara Roban fed across goal for Shereen Murphy to punch to the net. A Ciara Bridges point made it 2-4 to nil but Saoirse O'Reilly soon hit back with her first free.

Roban poked to the roof of the goal before Bridges hit the rigging seconds later as Wexford ended the first quarter 4-4 to 0-1 ahead. A quick 1-1 from Coakley was followed by a Roban point as Wexford continued to motor.

Coakley was almost unplayable and added her second major in the 23rd minute, while Roban followed suit three minutes later to make it 7-6 to 0-1. There was still time for the corner-forward to add another point, with further scores from Bennett and Conroy as Wexford went in 29 points ahead.

Wholesale changes slowed the pace of the hosts' attacks but, in Ciara Banville, Wexford had someone who didn't want to take it easy on the visitors. She scored a superb 1-2 within five minutes of her introduction as her side increased their lead.

Bridges notched her county's ninth goal in the 36th minute and Bennett added another ten minutes later. A Banville point in the 48th minute was her side's final score as Wicklow finished with a flourish in the last ten. Next up for Wexford is a home game against Carlow on March 28.

Wexford: Sally Walker; Geri-Rose O'Connor, Mikaela Lanigan, Olivia McDonnell; Katlyn Whelan-Kinsella, Niamh Dunne (capt.), Michelle Carty; Ann Marie Bennett (1-3), Ciara O'Connor; Shereen Hamilton (1-0), Emily Coakley (2-3, 0-1 free), Ciara Bridges (2-1); Ciara Roban (2-2), Britney Conroy (1-1), Lauren Murphy. Subs. - Ciara Banville (1-3, 0-1 free) for Conroy (31), Orla Fitzgerald for Coakley (31), Imogen Fanning for Carty (31), Aisling Halligan for Lanigan (31), Kate O'Loughlin for McDonnell (31), Caragh Clark for Walker (31), Sarah Lynch for Murphy (31), Emma O'Connor for Roban (31), O. McDonnell for Whelan-Kinsella (38), Murphy for Bridges (40), Roban for Hamilton (55), Coakley for Bennett (57), also Julia Dempsey, Orla Fortune, Sarah Harding-Kenny.

Wicklow: Amy Kavanagh; Zoe Takacs, Emily Hadden, Lauren Byrne; Ciara Fagan, Kelin Stafford, Caoilfhinn Kavanagh; Kerrianne Murphy, Sinéad McGettigan (capt., 0-1); Laura Butler, Saoirse O'Reilly (0-5 frees), Nicole Walsh; Lillian Molloy-O'Connor, Sarah O'Toole, Shauna Ryan. Subs. - Shona Erasmus for Takacs (31), Rachel Purcell for O'Toole (31), Clodagh Healy for Molloy-O'Connor (31), Natalie Farrell for Butler (31), Abbie McLoughlin for Fagan (34).

Referee: John Doherty (Dublin).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links