Saturday 24 August 2019

Vols comeback shocks Rocks

Town team reach last eight

Dean Goodison

Fourteen-man Volunteers booked their place in the quarter-finals of the Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship with a stunning come-form-behind Group B victory over Tara Rocks in Monamolin on Sunday.

Volunteers 0-11 Tara Rocks 0-9

The Páirc Charman side looked to be heading for a hiding when Alan Donovan was given a straight red card after just eleven minutes with his side already 0-4 to 0-1 down, but Volunteers soldiered on regardless.

It's not like the dismissal was the only setback in a horror 30 minutes for the victors. Mikey Lawler (hamstring) and Troy Murphy (head) were both forced off injured while star man Keith Kearney missed a first-half penalty and was substituted at the break.

Volunteers trailed by 0-7 to 0-2 at the interval after a treble from Rhys Owley was added to by a James Mordaunt double. Kearney's penalty miss, which came after Murphy was fouled, arrived with three minutes of the half remaining and was shoved high and wide to the right of goal.

The comeback started soon after the break with points from Donal O'Connor (two), Eoin O'Shea and Brian Sheridan making it 0-7 to 0-6. Mordaunt registered again to close out the third quarter but back came the Vols to level with an O'Connor brace.

Again Mordaunt fired Tara Rocks ahead but with Eoin McCarthy exceptional at centre-forward, driving at the opposition defence time after time, Shane Bates levelled the scores with two minutes left.

Peter Walsh coolly put his side ahead a minute later and Bates put the finishing touches on a remarkable effort in added time.

Volunteers: John Cody; Anthony Walsh (capt.), Mick Murphy, Brian Sheridan (0-1); Peter Walsh (0-1), Alan Donovan, Mikey Lawlor; Stephen Burke, Keith Furlong; Eoin O'Shea (0-1), Eoin McCarthy, Keith Kearney (0-1); Donal O'Connor (0-4 frees), Troy Murphy (0-1), Aidan Roche. Subs. - John Browne for Lawlor, inj. (9), Shane Bates (0-2) for T. Murphy, inj. (28), Jason Kearns for Kearney (31), Ciarán Hillery for Roche (48).

Tara Rocks: Brian McDermott; Damien Tobin, Tomás Owley, Seán Owley; Paddy Phelan (0-1), Richie McDonald, Martin Sheehan; Brendan Hobbs, Shane Tobin (capt.); Niall Breen (0-1), Declan Breen, Paul Carton; James Mordaunt (0-4, 1 free), Rhys Owley (0-3, 2 frees), Lee Owley. Subs. - Colin Breen for Tobin (45), Danny Howard for Sheehan (45), Gary Owley for Breen (46), Paddy Carton for L. Owley (55), Aaron Murphy for McDonald (55).

Referee: Paddy Brady (Réalt na Mara).

Wexford People

Most Read