Tuesday 12 December 2017

Volunteers make light work of Starlights

Brendan Furlong

Two second half goals swung the game Volunteers way as they eventually went on to a 13-point victory over a weak Starlights outfit in this Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship quarter-final at Oylegate on Saturday afternoon last.

Volunteers 2-11 Starlights 0-04

Predictably it was goals that was eventually going to help to decide this game which was devoid of quality football, but still the Vols struggled until their opening goal arrived after 41 minutes, after which they assumed total control over a Starlights side that lacked any real fire power in attack.

While both sides bemoaned misses through the opening 30 minutes, the football was of such poor quality, that scoring was limited to just six course during this opening period. Peter Walsh and Richard Farrell, a 45, exchanged points through the opening eight minutes, before a Troy Murphy point put the Wexford town side in front, a lead they were never subsequently to lose. they added two further first half points through Peter Walsh and Eoin McCarthy, with Ed Tobin responding with a point just on the break, leaving the eventual winners leading 0-4 to 0-2 at the interval.

For their part, Volunteers showed considerable improvement on the resumption adding two quick points through Ciaran Hillery and Peter Walsh, with a Richard Farrell pointed free keeping the cathedral town side in touch. With scoring still scarce it was Eoin O'Shea's 41st minute goal that set the Vols up as they now led 1-7 to 0-3, going on to control the final quarter with Craig Kearney adding a second goal in the closing stages to secure a comfortable victory, with Declan Ruth getting his sides final point.

Volunteers: John Cody; Michael Lawlor, Michael Murphy, Brian Sheridan; Stephen Burke, Alan Donovan, Jason Kearns; Keith Kearney (0-2), Keith Furlong; Peter Walsh (0-4), Eoin McCarthy (0-1), Troy Murphy (0-2); Michael Roche, Eoin O'Shea (1-1), Ciaran Hillery (0-1). Sub: Craig Kearney (1-0) for McCarthy.

Starlights: Gary Murphy; Davy Morrissey, Joe Cullen, Joe Newe; Declan Courtney, Ed Tobin (0-1), Wayne Breen; John Daly, Richard Farrell (0-2, 0-1 free, 0-1, 45); Eoin Quigley, Declan Ruth (0-1), Conor Ronan; Paddy Connors, Eamon Furlong, Pat O'Rourke.

Referee: E O'Sullivan (Kilanerin).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links