Friday 19 January 2018

Wafer wins skills final

The county Under-14 ladies' football Féile skills took place in a damp Páirc Charman, but 22 girls braved the conditions to take on the course and display their talent.

The following girls took part: Róisín and Derval Noctor (Kilanerin); Emer O'Rourke and Ellen Coggins (St. Martin's); Tara Cullinane and Jessica O'Leary (Volunteers); Anna Jevens (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy); Aoife Wafer (Ballygarrett); Shauna Cullen and Clara Molloy (Blackwater); Amy Molloy and Chloe Drought (Fethard); Annabel Dunlop-Doyle and Molly Redican (Taghmon-Camross); Ebony Murphy (Shamrocks); Katie Breen-Sherlock and Aoife Codd (Baile Dubh Tíre); Leah Doran and Leah Scallan (Crossabeg-Ballymurn); Sarah O'Donoghue (St. Fintan's); Theresa White and Grace O'Donovan (Clongeen).

Great skill was shown by all the girls and at impressive speed. In the end it was decided by the bonus points for time and this was enough to make Aoife Wafer the winner and sees her go on to represent Wexford on June 11 in Dublin.

The top three were: 1, Aoife Wafer (Ballygarrett); 2, Shauna Cullen (Blackwater); 3, Ellen Coggins (St. Martin's). On behalf of Wexford ladies' football, may we wish Aoife Wafer the best of luck in the next round.

The Leinster Under-16 'B' championship semi-final on Sunday ended in a heavy 6-10 to 1-2 defeat for Wexford at the hands of Westmeath. It was 3-6 to 1-1 at half-time, with the scores coming from Britney Conroy (1-0), Emily Coakley (0-1), Rachel Bennett (0-1).

Wexford: Sally Walker (Volunteers); Imogen Fanning (Kilmore), Orla Fortune (Kilmore), Geri Rose O'Connor (Baile Dubh Tíre); Michelle Carty (Taghmon-Camross), Sarah Harding-Kenny (Shelmalier, capt.), Niamh Dunne (St. Martin's); Rachel Bennett (St. Anne's), Ciara O'Connor (Gusserane); Anne Marie Bennett (St. Anne's), Emily Coakley (St. Fintan's), Ciara Bridges (Sarsfields); Sherene Hamilton (Ballygarrett), Britney Conroy (HWH-Bunclody), Julia Dempsey (Volunteers). Subs. - Gráinne McCabe (Starlights), Kathlyn Whelan-Kinsella (Crossabeg-Ballymurn), Ciara Roban (Baile Dubh Tíre), Aisling Halligan (Sarsfields), Lauren Murphy (Shelmalier), Kate O'Loughlin (Ballygarrett), Mikaela Lanigan (Shelmalier), Orla Fitzgerald (Clonee), Emma O'Connor (Gusserane), Sarah Lynch (Naomh Eanna), Ailis Neville (Shelmalier), Caragh Clarke (Naomh Eanna), Ciara Banville (Taghmon-Camross), Olivia McDonnell (Kilmore).

In other news, the following Under-10 blitz groups have been finalised: 1, Ballygarrett, Castletown, Kilanerin, Naomh Eanna; 2, Starlights, Clonee, Bunclody, Baile Dubh Tíre, Shamrocks; 3, Glynn-Barntown 'B', Slaney Gaels, Glynn-Barntown 'C', Ballyhogue; 4, St. Fintan's, St. Anne's, Kilmore, St. Martin's; 5, Clonard, Glynn-Barntown 'A', St. Brigid's, Shelmalier; 6, Rathgarogue-Cushinstown, Clongeen, Bannow-Ballymitty, Taghmon-Camross; 7, Gusserane, Fethard, Horeswood, St. James'.

The first-named clubs will be hosting the blitz on Sunday, May 15.

Junior 'A' championship: Ballygarrett-Réalt na Mara 2-9, Naomh Eanna 1-8; Bannow-Ballymitty 4-6, Horeswood 0-9. Junior 'B' championship: Starlights 5-14, Shamrocks 0-8; Davidstown-Courtnacuddy 2-8, Rathgarogue-Cushinstown 1-6.

Junior 'B' championship (first-named at home): Gusserane 'B' v. Rathgarogue-Cushinstown, May 10, 7.30 p.m.; Davidstown-Courtnacuddy v. Crossabeg-Ballymurn ;B', May 10, 7.30 p.m.; Glynn-Barntown v. St. Anne's, May 10, 7.30 p.m.; Kilanerin 'B' v. Shamrocks, May 10, 7.30 p.m.; St. Brigid's v. Starlights, May 13, 7.30 p.m.; Castletown 'B' v. Clonee 'B', May 13, 7.30 p.m.

Under-12 fixtures (first-named at home): St. Martin's v. Shelmalier, May 12, 7 p.m. (Damien Donovan); Kilmore v. Clonee, May 12, 7 p.m. (Seán Kavanagh); Glynn-Barntown v. Clonard, May 12, 7 p.m. (Stephen Burke); St. Brigid's v. Ballygarrett, May 12, 7 p.m.; Kilanerin v. HWH-Bunclody, May 12, 7 p.m.; Bannow-Ballymitty v. Adamstown, May 12, 7 p.m. (Eric Molloy); Starlights v. Castletown, May 12, 7 p.m.; Crossabeg-Ballymurn v. Naomh Eanna, May 16, 7 p.m.; Slaney Gaels v. Davidstown-Courtnacuddy, May 12, 7 p.m.; Baile Dubh Tíre v. Shamrocks, May 12, 7 p.m.

Under-16 fixtures (first-named at home): Shelmalier v. Taghmon-Camross, May 13, 7.30 p.m.; Clonard v. Volunteers, May 11, 7 p.m.; Kilmore v. Crossabeg-Ballymurn, May 13, 7 p.m. (Barry Redmond); Castletown v. Clonee , May 10, 7.15 p.m.; St. Anne's v. Horeswood, May 11, 7.30 p.m. (John Diskin); St. Brigid's v. Baile Dubh Tíre, May 11, 7.15 p.m. (Francis Neville); Kilanerin v. Davidstown-Courtnacuddy, May 11, 7.30 p.m.; Rathgarogue-Cushinstown v. Shamrocks, May 13, 6.45 p.m. (Anthony Tobin).

Minor: Bannow-B'mitty v. Adamstown, May 20, 7.30 p.m.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links