Wednesday 13 December 2017

Wexford success at Under-12 blitz

THE LEINSTER Under-12 'A' football blitz took place on Saturday last in Carlow and Wexford sent two teams.

The first team under the guidance of M.J. Berry and Kathleen Banville played in Division 1 and, while they didn't win any game they were always competitive. They started slowly and were defeated by Kildare (4-7 to 2-1) in the first game.

They played Meath 'A' in the second game and were unlucky to lose by 2-3 to 2-0. In the final game against Westmeath they played their best football and were denied reaching a three-way play-off when they conceded a last-minute goal to lose by 1-4 to 1-2.

Wexford 'A': Amy Cousins (Kilmore), Eimear O Donnagáin (Sarsfields), Fiona Bernarius (Blackwater), Liadh Dwyer (St. John's Volunteers), Clodagh Walsh (St. Martin's), Holly Sinnott (Clonard), Elena Kenny (Horeswood), Ciara Bridges (Sarsfields), Sophie Boxwell (Kilmore), Michelle Cullen (St. Fintan's), Eimear Byrne (Starlights), Ciara Banville (Taghmon-Camross), Anais Curran (Starlights), Jane Rossiter (Bannow-Ballymitty), Sarah Siggins (Clonard), Ava Kelly (Crossabeg-Ballymurn), Lauren Murphy (Sarsfields), Kira Bates-Crosbie (Kilmore), Megan Fitzhenry-White (St. Anne's), Emma Clarke (Taghmon-Camross).

The Wexford 'B' team was put into Division 3 and the girls were looked after by David Shiggins and Aideen Sutton. They played Laois 'B' in their first game and won by 6-4 to 2-0. Their second game was against Cill Dara and here they were defeated by 2-4 to 1-0.

While this was the only game they lost, it was also the last time they conceded a score because in the next two games they held Carlow and Louth scoreless while recording 5-1 and 4-4 respectively. This left three teams on nine points, Cill Dara, Louth and Wexford, and to decide who would compete in the final the three teams had to kick points from the 20-metre line.

The three teams had five players step up and each team converted three, so it was sudden death. When the Cill Dara girl missed her attempt, the Louth and Wexford players pointed to send them through. The final was played in a downpour and Wexford again held Louth scoreless while hitting 1-3 themselves.

Wexford 'B': Olivia McDonnell (Kilmore), Ali O'Leary (Glynn-Barntown), Caoimhe Kehoe (Ballyhogue), Grace Cloney (Adamstown), Michelle Carty (Taghmon-Camross), Jane Purcell (Blackwater), Chelsea Pitman (Clonard), Ailis Neville (Shelmalier), Michelle Kinsella (Horeswood), Sherene Hamilton (Ballygarrett), Rosie McGuckin (Naomh Eanna), Cliona Power (St. Anne's), Amy Fortune (Crossabeg-Ballymurn), Nadine Cunningham (St. Anne's), Grace Cousins (Kilmore), Rachel Power (Adamstown), Ciara Moore (St. Anne's), Aileen Berry (Kilmore), Marie Sutton (Blackwater).

Panel members who were unable to travel were: Chloe Kavanagh (Crossabeg-Ballymurn), Amy O'Leary (St. Martin's), Róisín Parker (Horeswood), Faye Prendergast (Horeswood), Isobel Carroll (Blackwater), Sarah O'Leary (St. John's Volunteers), Hannah Hynes (St. John's Volunteers).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links