Wednesday 18 September 2019

Wexford well represented at Under-12 blitz

Some of the Wexford group at Saturday's blitz in Carlow
Some of the Wexford group at Saturday's blitz in Carlow

Sixty-six Wexford girls travelled to Carlow on Saturday for the Leinster Under-12 ladies' football blitz.

Wexford had three teams distinguished under three different names: Wexford, Loch Garman and Purple and Gold, and it was heartening to see all three teams making their group finals.

The Loch Garman team collected a Leinster title in their division as they rounded off their final against Kildare with a shoot-out of frees from the 21-yard line which was won.

The team named Wexford went down to Westmeath in another shoot-out, with the Purple and Gold team losing out in their final.

These girls will have another blitz to look forward to in August when they will partake in a national competition.

Wexford: Jean Kavanagh-Doyle (Naomh Eanna), Laura Cash (Blackwater), Tara Murphy (Clonard), Eilish O'Rourke (Clonee), Ella Wright (Blackwater), Amber Wright (Blackwater), Tara Cullinane (Volunteers), Emma Carr (St. Fintan's), Sadbh Neville (Glynn-Barntown), Aoife Cullen (Rathgarogue-Cushinstown), Emma Tomkins (Clonee), Karen Tomkins (Clonee), Shauna Cullen (Blackwater), Katie Breen-Sherlock (Baile Dubh Tíre), Rachel Sinnott (Baile Dubh Tíre), Clara Molloy (Blackwater), Grace Donovan (Clongeen), Caoimhe Parker (Shelmalier), Emma Lynch (Naomh Eanna), Milly Nolan (Blackwater), Chloe Drought (St. Mogue's), Aoife Weafer (Ballygarrett), Grace Roche (Glynn-Barntown).

Loch Garman: Ciara Hennessy (Crossabeg-Ballymurn), Katie O'Reilly (Kilmore), Polly Frost (Crossabeg-Ballymurn), Mary Moran (Crossabeg-Ballymurn), Annie Brennan-Roche (St. Anne's), Lauren Roban (Baile Dubh Tíre), Orlagh Kehoe (Baile Dubh Tíre), Anna Jevens (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy), Cliona Creane (Glynn-Barntown), Molly Lambert (Crossabeg-Ballymurn), Róisín Waters (St. Martin's), Donna Delahunty (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy), Thersa White (Clongeen), Leah Kidd (Starlights), Keira Boland (Starlights), Katie Murphy (Taghmon-Camross), Ellie Clooney (Adamstown), Amy Ennis (Clonee), Zoe Tobin-Cosgrove (Clonee), Emer Hunt (Horeswood), Orla Lynam (Sarsfields), Lauren Delaney (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy), Nicole Harding-Kenny (Shelmalier).

Purple and Gold: Aoife O'Connor (St. Martin's), Rhianna Fox (Sarsfields), Kaci O'Connor (Ballyhogue), Nadine Power (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy), Aoife Codd (Baile Dubh Tíre), Ciara Shannon (Clonard), Aisling Finn (St. Anne's), Aoife Clarke (Glynn-Barntown), Laura Byrne (Ballyhogue), Ciara Cummins (Bannow-Ballymitty), Suin Murdiff (Naomh Eanna), Lucy Walsh (Crossabeg-Ballymurn), Sinéad Hegarty (Castletown), Martha Kavanagh (Adamstown), Lea Furlong (Gusserane), Lauren Roche (Sarsfields), Clodagh Foran (St. Martin's), Mia Kelly (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy), Amy Tobin-Cosgrave (Clonee), Katie English (Adamstown), Catherine Hayes (Taghmon-Camross), Mollie Donohue (Sarsfields), Emer Fitzgerald (Clonee).

Wexford People