Saturday 16 December 2017

Glynn-barntown hit front early and never looked back


1-12 1-5

HAVING LED by 1-6 to 1-0 at half-time, Glynn-Barntown got through by a comfortable seven-point margin in the end to defeat the Kilanerin/Tara Rocks combination Ballinastragh Gaels and qualify for the Under-21 football Premier championship final.

The rain came down from start to finish under the lights at Bree where the goals were the first scores for either side. Craig Doyle raced through for the Glynn-Barntown major after seven minutes, and James Graham found the net for Ballinastragh less than a minute later.

Glynn-Barntown did most of the early attacking and were in no way flattered by their six-point lead at the break.

Mark Fanning showed good accuracy from frees and play for the winners, while John Leacy also chipped in with a couple of excellent long-range points, while Barry Doyle, Rioghan Crosbie and Garrett Wallace also made it onto the scoresheet before the end.

The second-half was more closely-contested than the first as Dean O'Toole with three pointed frees plus Mark Boland and Conor Devitt kept the north county combination in touch, but they never really looked like threatening a Glynn-Barntown side which won with plenty to spare.

The second semi-final between Shelmaliers and St. Anne's is on Saturday next in Hollymount at 4 p.m.

Glynn-Barntown: Kevin Quigley; Colm O'Shea, Simon Gubbins, Gavin Walsh; Kevin Crean (0-1), Shane Gubbins, Nigel Usher; John Leacy (0-2), Craig Doyle (1-0); Barry Doyle (0-1), Michael O'Regan, Garrett Wallace (0-1); J.J. Doyle, Mark Fanning (0-6, 4 frees), Rioghan Crosbie (0-1). Subs. - Gary Sutton for Wallace, Pádraig Wafer for J.J. Doyle.

Ballinastragh Gaels: Patrick Hughes; Michael Quigley, Tomás Owley, Cillian O'Toole; Dean Mulligan, Denis Jones, Dean Redmond; David Conway, Stephen Hughes; Mark Boland (0-1 free), Conor Devitt (0-1), Dean O'Toole (0-3 frees); James Graham (10), Brian O'Connor, James Mordaunt. Subs. - Conor Byrne for Quigley, John Kavanagh for O'Connor.

Referee: Henry Sinnott (Bannow-Ballymitty).

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links