Saturday 20 January 2018

Good Counsel defeated in Leinster final

Mullingar side claim crown

Dean Goodison at Fenagh, Carlow

The Good Counsel team who were defeated by Coliste Mhuire from Mullingar
The Good Counsel team who were defeated by Coliste Mhuire from Mullingar

A spirited Good Counsel side came up a little short against Colaiste Mhuire, Mullingar in the Leinster Post Primary Schools Juvenile Football 'A' final in Fenagh, Carlow on Wednesday lunchtime last.

Colaiste Mhuire 5-07 Good Counsel 3-06

It's rare that the New Ross school have come out second best with the big ball in recent years but there's no denying that their Westmeath opponents were that little bit better on the day and are worthy champions.

Their scores came easier, their defending was tighter and their attacking breaks were just that little bit fasted. It meant that, at times, they didn't have to work as hard for their scores as Good Counsel did, especially with the Ross boys chasing the game in the second half.

The beauty of this group is that these lads are at a prime age for development and no better place for them to learn and improve their all-round game. It would certainly be no surprise to see this team winning it all in two years time as juniors.

Maybe if they hadn't started both halves poorly they could have nicked a win in this one. With just over 60 seconds on the clock they fell behind when David Devin finished off a move involving the dangerous duo of Trevor Keena and Dean Ennis.

Good Counsel hit back with a Eoin Porter point and soon went ahead when Dylan Whelan forced the ball into Jamie Sheehan's path and the Gusserane clubman drove through on the left wing and netted.

A Keena point levelled the game at the end of the first quarter but a slice of luck, that saw a defensive clearance hit Emmet Cullen and ricochet to the net, gave Counsel their biggest lead of the afternoon (2-1 to 1-1).

Mullingar, playing with the breeze, sprayed several poor wides but did tie the game at the interval courtesy of points from Keena (two) and Enda Gaffney. Level 1-4 to 2-1, Good Counsel conceded twice within three minutes of the resumption.

Ennis drove in for the first of those majors before Keena hared through the heart of the defence to net. Yet three points in a row, with Joe O'Sullivan and Rory O'Connor (two) on target, left just three between the sides with twelve minutes left (3-4 to 2-4).

After Mullingar scored three overs in a row, they added a fourth goal through Ben McGurran to leave Good Counsel hopes in jeopardy. To their credit the New Ross lads goaled from a quick thinking Sheehan and added overs from O'Connor and Patrick Whitty to again pull within four.

They had one great chance to grab a crucial major in the first minute of added time when Sheehan shot narrowly wide. Painfully, Colaiste Mhuire immediately went up the other end and finished the game with a well taken Fionn O'Hara goal meaning all six forwards and two midfielders notched for the victors.

Coláiste Mhuire: Cian McCourt; Daire Smith, Nathan Lynott, Rory Sheahan; Adam Treanor, Conor Gibney, Tumelo Tlou; Trever Keena (1-3), Fionn O'Hara (1-0); Enda Gaffney (0-1), Dean Ennis (1-0), Jamie Coffey (0-1); David Devin (1-0), Ben McGurran (1-1), Kevin O'Sullivan (0-1). Subs. - Jamie Levy for Ennis, black card (60), also, Barry Nwokeiwu, Daniel Chuckwuemeka, James Kerrigan, Adam Bate, Thomas Nally, Brian Martin, Adam McCormack, Donal Doherty, Ian Flaherty, Jason Molloy, Charlie Drumm, Patrick Davitt, David McGrath, Paddy Rafferty, Fionn Glennon, Feidhlam Glennon, Andrew Day.

Good Counsel: Kyle Martin; Jason Byrne, Jack Elliot, Adam Sinnott; A.J. Redmond, Jack Kehoe, Luke Byrne Doyle; Donal Porter (0-1 free), Padraig Dempsey; Dylan Whelan, Jamie Sheehan (2-0, 1-0 free), Darragh Roche; Joe O'Sullivan (0-1), Rory O'Connor (0-3, 2 frees), Emmet Cullen (1-0). Subs. - Patrick Whitty (0-1) for Redmond (54), Jimmy Molloy, John Harper, Anthony O'Connor, Killian Griffin, Robin Davis, Sean Walsh, Evan Kiely, Jim Wallace, Owen Lennon, Ian Mansfield, Ryan Banville, Ruairi O'Brien, Eoghan Devereux, Paidi O'Shea, Conor Kehoe, Cathal Connolly, Dylan Ryan, Aaron Whelan, Cathal Cummins, Jason Murphy, Neil Ennis, Fiachra Knox, Sam Wallace.

REFEREE: Pat Kehoe (Carlow).

Wexford People

Promoted Links