Saturday 18 November 2017

Gusserane pip Sarsfields

brendan furlong at Taghmon

GUSSERANE put the disappointment of their Senior mauling twenty-four hours earlier behind them as their second string fashioned out a hard earned two point victory over Sarsfields in this exciting Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior A football championship quarter-final at Taghmon on Sunday morning last.

his was a game that ignited from the opening minutes, with energetic endeavour replacing free-flowing football, but still the standard was quite high as an experienced Gusserane outfit took on a youthful Sarsfields side, and as the game developed it answered all the questions with the eventual winners having to survive a tremendous Sarsfields surge in the final quarter.

Considering the slippery surface following the heavy overnight rain both teams served up some real quality play, and it was Gusserane who enjoyed a bright start, through an early Jamie Cooney point, while after nine minutes it was Tom Foran who finished clinically for a goal.

When Gusserane followed with quickfire points from Sean O'Connor and Cooney, they led 1-3 to 0-0, at the end of theopening quarter.

Sarsfields now began to answer the question being asked of them opening their account after twenty-one minutes through a John Clancy point, while five minutes later Danhy Walsh goaled a penalty, which left the eventual winners leading 1-4 to 1-1, at the interval.

Vinnie Ryan and Andrew Harrington, free, exchanged early second half points, but with Harrington, further free, and Sean Palin following with points, the deficit was reduced to the minimum, 1-5 to 1-4, after 49 minutes.

Sub Alan Myler steadied Gusserane with a point, and following a further exchange of points, a Harrington pointed free on fifty-four minutes, left the minimum separating the sides, 1-7 to 1-6. Still Gusserane bounced back for a Vinny Rayn point but they had to withstand a Sarsfields onslaught in the closing five minutes to ensure victory.

Gusserane: Brian Hennessy; Eoin Foran, Cathal Somers, James Redmond; Shane Doyle, Keith O'Grady, Donal Kiely; Robert Browne, John Roche;Tommy Cosgrave, Philip Wallace, Gary O'Grady; Sean O'Connor (0-2), Jamie Cooney (0-2), Tom Foran (1-1). Subs: Alan Myler (0-1) for Roche; Vinnie Ryan (0-2) for Cosgrave; Sean Kinsella for Doyle.

Sarsfields: Matthew Murphy; Darragh Reville, Terry Whitty, Adam Roche; Justin Whitty, David Gannon, Sean Banville; Paul Gannon, Shaun Donohoe; Padraig Clancy, Thomas McGrath, John Clancy (0-2); Danny Walsh (1-0 pen), Ian O'Leary, Andrew Harrington (0-3 frees). Subs: Sean Palin (0-1) for Whitty; Sean Ryan for O'Leary; Enda Whelan for Padraig Clancy.

Referee: Henry Sinnott (Bannow-Ballymitty).

Wexford People

Promoted Links