Sunday 19 November 2017

'Jotty' inspires Bunclody to Junior 'A' semi-final

HWH-Bunclody 4-11 M/Castledockrell 2-3

Dean Goodison at St Patrick's Park

A final quarter goal blitz secured HWH-Bunclody's spot in the semi-finals of the Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior A Football championship at St Patrick's Park on Sunday lunchtime last.

They led by just a point (2-3 to 0-10) as the game headed into the last twelve minutes but a superbly worked goal between Adrian Hendrick and John 'Jotty' Connors, which saw the latter rounding the 'keeper to net, opened the floodgates.

The supersub 'Jotty' ended with a hat-trick of majors as Bunclody cut through their tiring opponents with regularity. J.P. Connors got in on the act too, he rattled the rigging after great work by Cathal Doyle to put a classy seal on victory.

Bunclody advanced to this stage of the competition without tasting defeat but were left stunned by a Marshalstown-Castledockrell wonder start. Frank Kelly signalled their intent with a lovely weighted effort that airmailed Francis Reck in the 4th minute.

They were 2-0 to 0-1 ahead six minute later when Michael Kinsella raced right through the heart of the Bunclody defence and fired a controlled finish to the net. However, slowly the tide turned and Marshalstown were reeled in.

Bunclody spread the points around, the pick of them was probably Matty Byrne's well taken over after a fantastic team build-up. Their narrow 0-9 to 2-2 interval lead didn't change much until Connors grabbed his first major but after that goal there was only going to be one winner.

HWH-BUNCLODY: Francis Reck; Paul Jackman, Thomas O'Neill (capt.), Sean Nolan; Matty Byrne (0-1), Joe Kavanagh, Byron Byrne; Jason Cowman (0-1), James Taylor (0-1); Conor Hendrick (0-1), Paul Finn, Stephen Kavanagh (0-1); Adrian Hendrick (0-3), J.P. Connors (1-2), Cathal Doyle (0-1). Subs. - John 'Jotty' Connors (3-0) for Nolan, inj (28), Fergal Kelly for C. Hendrick, temp (35-40), Darren Murphy for A. Hendrick (50), Diarmuid Crean for Cowman (57), Pauric Doyle for C. Doyle (60), Michael 'Baldy' Connors for J.P. Connors (60).

MARSHALSTOWN-CASTLEDOCKRELL: Colm Quigley; Tom Bennett, David O'Connor, Ken Doyle; Finn O'Driscoll, Michael Morris, Diarmuid Doyle (0-1); Colm Bennett, Richard Ormonde; James Finn, Joe Kelly, Mark Morris; Michael Kinsella (1-0), Frank Kelly (1-2, 0-1 free), Eoin Bennett. Subs. - Barry Doyle for R. Ormonde, inj (31), Mark Brennan for O'Driscoll (38), Michael Hughes for Finn (42), John Frayne for J. Kelly (47), Michael Kelly for E. Bennett (55).

REFEREE: Kevin Kehoe (Our Lady's Island)

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links