Sunday 17 December 2017

Midfielders power Ballyhogue home



A DOMINANT performance by the midfield duo of Shane Doyle and Conor Byrne was the bedrock for Ballyhogue as they proved too powerful for Bannow-Ballymitty in the Under-16 football Division 3 championship final at Taghmon on Wednesday last.

The deadly duo were in stunning form, picking off a score each and displaying incredible engines that allowed the Enniscorthy District side to dominate the game from the middle third of the field.

That five others got on the scoresheet shows the depth of help the centrefield double act had, and it was a level of performance that was on show as early as the first five minutes as Ballyhogue streaked three points clear.

Excellent inter-change by Dara Cross and Doyle allowed Noel Roche to clip over the opening score, and no sooner had the ball been kicked out than it was sailing back between the uprights again with Tom Murphy finishing after a lung-busting run forward.

Conor Byrne and Dylan Dalton combined for the former to point before Roche nailed his first dead ball to make the lead 0-4 to nil after ten minutes. Adam Diskin, whose side played down the hill and with the breeze in the opening half, provided BannowBallymitty with a moment's respite with a fine score but Roche's second free quickly followed.

Dalton's powerful run produced point number six for his side, a minor that was matched by Roche in the 27th minute (0-7 to 0-1). That would prove to be the half-time score but not before centre-forward Dalton burst away from the defence and drilled a low shot narrowly wide.

An excellent Michael Colfer point gave Bannow-Ballymitty hope at the beginning of the second period but it was all Ballyhogue from there. While twelve wides in the final 30 minutes prevented the winning margin growing further, four points did come.

Roche grabbed the first two, one of which bounced on the crossbar before falling over. Cormac Byrne's work out of defence allowed Shane Doyle to claim his point with 16 minutes remaining and Joe Byrne put a cap on victory late on with a fine point running away from goal, all of which allowed Ballyhogue captain Tom Murphy to accept the Division 3 trophy on behalf of his side.

Ballyhogue: Joe Carley; Dean Sinnott, Fionn Rochford, Shane Fenlon; Conor Long, Cormac Byrne, Tom Murphy (0-1); Shane Doyle (0-1), Conor Byrne (0-1); Noel Roche (0-6, 3 frees, 1 '45), Dylan Dalton (01), Eric Kennedy; Dara Cross, Joe Byrne (01), Mick Condon. Subs. - John Kennedy for Cross, Davy Murphy for Kennedy, Darragh Byrne for J. Byrne, Niall Jones for Condon, also Dean Power, Nick Doyle.

Bannow-Ballymitty: Kevin Doyle; John Foley, Michael Murphy, Ben Moran; Mark Carroll, Aaron Diskin, Clem Rossiter; Conor Neville, Stephen Fahy; Conor Anglim, Adam Diskin (0-1), Richie Walsh; James Crosbie, Lar Whelan, Michael Colfer (0-1). Subs. - Seán Keating for Crosbie, Dean Martin for Colfer, Ray Fleming for Anglim, also Yosef Ali, Ibraham Ali, Adam Cummins, Ryan Stafford, Liam Nolan.

Referee: Philip Murphy (Faythe Harriers).

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links