Saturday 21 September 2019

Athletes in league finals

The Wexford men's team
The Wexford men's team
Marco Pons

The A.A.I. National League final took place recently in Tullamore. Wexford had a women's team in the Premier Division, while a men's team contested Division 1.

The women's team which was depleted due to some members on international duty at the Celtic Games finished in a very respectable seventh position. Team members were Catríona Corcoran, Olivia Howe, Liz Egan, Sophie McCabe, Aoife Cloke-Rochford (all Bree), Marie Mooney and Marguerite Furlong (Adamstown), Fiona Kehoe, Sharon Kehoe, Elaine Cardiff (all Kilmore), Aoife Muldoon, Elana Browne, Nora Muldoon (all United Striders), Katelyn Furlong and Emer Gilhooley (D.M.P.), Emma Owens (St. Paul's) and Sinéad Moloney (St. Killian's). Team manager was Eamon Owens (St. Paul's).

The men's team was also depleted, due to sickness and some members on international duty, but they were still very competitive and in medal position right up to the last few events.

They slipped to fourth position and out of the medals, but hats off to this young team for giving it their all. If both teams had full squads they would have taken home medals and titles.

The men's team members were Peter O'Shea (D.M.P.), Enda Cloake (Slaney Olympic), Peter O'Connor and Chris St. Clare Johnson (E.A.C.), Ciarán Murphy (St. Paul's), Cathal Byrne (E.A.C.), Tom Furlong (D.M.P.), Joe Mooney (Adamstown), Ross Declan, Tim Bowler, James Fortune (E.A.C.), Shane Connick (St. Paul's), Marco Pons (D.M.P.), Michael Bowler (E.A.C.), Ryan Murray (Bree), Ryan Carty-Walsh (Adamstown) and Ger Forde (Slaney Olympic). Well done to all.

Wexford People

Most Read