Tuesday 15 October 2019

Athlone host Games finals

Wexford well represented

Bronze medal winners from the Bree-Davidstown Area in the Under-12 group dance Irish contemporary section (from left): Niamh Fenlon, Makayla Flynn, Mia Murphy, Anita O'Leary-Doyle, Chloe O'Neill
Bronze medal winners from the Bree-Davidstown Area in the Under-12 group dance Irish contemporary section (from left): Niamh Fenlon, Makayla Flynn, Mia Murphy, Anita O'Leary-Doyle, Chloe O'Neill

This coming weekend, once again children from all over the county and indeed the country will converge on Athlone I.T. for the second part of the Community Games national festival of sport and cultural activities.

Over the two-day festival, children will compete in a variety of activities from track and field events and marathon to team events, to stage and musical events and gymnastics. There is plenty to attend to and we hope once again that the purple and gold-clad youngsters will be very much to the fore and make their presence felt around camp over the weekend, and hopefully take home many medals. That is the icing on the cake after all the months of training and preparation.

The Bree-Davidstown team of Sarah Bolger, Aine Byrne, Sarah Doyle, Erin Fortune, Amy Long and Méabh Rochford will compete in the Under-16 group modern dance category.

Also competing will be Erin Kehoe from Bree-Davidstown in the recitation category.

In the drama comedy section, Clongeen will be the participants; good luck to the team of Abbie Casey, Keela Daly, Katie Kehoe and Lily Mullins.

Hoping to do well for Area and county at the national gymnastics finals will be Aidan Kavanagh from Gorey in the Under-9 section, and Tobiah Walters from Gorey in the Under-11 category.

Taylor Dench from the BBBCR Area will compete in the Under-13 section, and Jamie Doyle from Gorey will compete in the Under-15 category.

For the girls those heading to Athlone include Alicia McKiernan from Gorey in the Under-9 section; Aoibhe Ormonde from Piercestown-Murrintown in the Under-11 section; Robyn Cousins from Gorey in the Under-13 category, and Ali Bushe (Gorey) in the Under-15 category.

Heading off for the athletics are: Chloe Casey, Glynn-Barntown (Under-8 60m); Lea Bolger, Glynn-Barntown (Under-8 80m); Abbie Doyle, Bree-Davidstown (Under-10 100m); Katie Doyle, Enniscorthy (Under-10 200m); Gracie Kehoe, Bree-Davidstown (Under-10 hurdles); Saidhbhe Byrne, Craanford (Under-12 100m); Aoibhinn Mernagh, Piercestown-Murrintown (Under-12 600m); Orlaith O'Hanlon, Taghmon (Under-14 grass cycling); Sophie Codd, Bree-Davidstown (Under-14 hurdles); Sabia Doyle, Clonard (Under-14 100m); Róisín O'Reilly, Clonard (Under-14 800m); Karyn Murphy, Enniscorthy (Under-16 100m); April Keeling, Clonard (Under-16 200m); Mairéad Crean, Bree-Davidstown (Under-16 1,500m); Tomás Brennan, Bree-Davidstown (Under-8 60m); Jayden Kenny, Bree-Davidstown (Under-8 80m); Arthur Ashmore, Enniscorthy (Under-10 100m); Kevin O'Mahony, Piercestown-Murrintown (Under-10 200m), Cian O'Dowd, Piercestown-Murrintown (Under-10 hurdles); Seán Rowley, Castlebridge-Crossabeg (Under-12 100m); Conn Mernagh, Piercestown-Murrintown (Under-12 600m); Darra Casey, Castlebridge-Crossabeg (Under-14 hurdles); Ryan Corrigan, Castlebridge-Crossabeg (Under-14 100m); Conor Doyle, Enniscorthy (Under-14 800m); Conor Ryan, Rathangan (Under-16 100m); Michael Abidoye, Enniscorthy (Under-16 200m), Jacob English, Castlebridge-Crossabeg (Under-16 1,500m).

The Under-16 girls' marathon team consists of Rebecca Bawden from the Ring of Hook, Sonia Mooney from Adamstown, and Tunamise Akinyemi from Enniscorthy.

In the Under-12 ball throw competition, Cosmo Hewlett (Ring of Hook) will be in action. In action also will be Michael Bolger, BBBCR (Under-12 long puck); Raphael Abidoye, Enniscorthy (Under-14 long jump); Maxwell Shoyeju, Enniscorthy (Under-14 javelin); Jack Forde, Castlebridge-Crossabeg (Under-14 shot putt); Conor Brennan, Piercestown-Murrintown (Under-16 high jump); Craig Wall, Newbawn-Raheen (Under-16 discus); Sophia Kinsella, BBBCR (Under-12 ball throw); Elaine Oladirron, Enniscorthy (Under-14 shot putt); Emma Dempsey, Glynn-Barntown (Under-14 long puck); Aisling Kelly, Taghmon (Under-14 long jump); Caitríona Doyle, Craanford (Under-14 javelin); Marguerite Furlong, Adamstown (Under-16 discus); Maeve Hayes, Piercestown-Murrintown (Under-16 high jump).

The following relay teams will be in action: Bree-Davidstown Under-12 (Leah Nolan, Emer Kervick, Ciara Byrne, Yvonne Hennebry, Alise Furlong, Katie Murphy); Enniscorthy Under-14 (Ann-Marie O'Connor, Ciara O'Connor, Erin Cahill, Precious Obasohan, Priscilla Akinyemi, Elaine Oladiran); Bree-Davidstown Under-10 mixed (Abbie Doyle, Gracie Kehoe, Tadhg Doyle, Oscar Redmond, Katie Nolan, Dylan Carr); Bree-Davidstown Under-13 mixed (Seán Fitzpatrick, Darra Kehoe, Donna Delahunty, Lucy Kehoe, Anna Jevens, Ryan Whelan); Bree-Davidstown Under-15 mixed (Shane Kehoe, Darragh Rochford, Sophie Codd, Katie Whelan, Connel Kervick, Claudia O'Neill); Enniscorthy Under-14 4 x 200m mixed (Michael Abidoye, David Oasohan, Lystus Ebosele, Karyn Murphy, Jamie Foley, Tunmise Akinyemi); Castlebridge-Crossabeg Under-12 (Seán Milbourne, Jack Hennessy, Shane Doran, Seán Rowley, Eamon Moran); Enniscorthy Under-14 (Maxwell Shoyesu, Joseph Akinyemi, Raphael Abidoye, Festy Ebosele, Dapo Abidoye, Daniel Feeney); Bree-Davidstown Under-16 (Cian Wickham, Peter Rogers, John Kehoe, Oran French).

Buses taking the participants to Athlone will leave the Ferrycarrig Hotel on Friday, August 19, at 11 a.m., travelling on to Enniscorthy to pick up more competitors.

Expect the bus to be at Abbey Square at around 11.25 a.m., and from there it's on to Athlone.

Children should all wear their county tracksuits travelling to and from Athlone.

The bus will leave Athlone on Monday, August 22, at around 10 a.m. and will be back in Enniscorthy at the Riverside Park Hotel between 2 and 2.30 p.m. for a reception.

Children who travelled to Athlone for the first weekend's programme of events are also most welcome to attend this reception.

Wexford People