Sunday 20 October 2019

Castlebridge-crossabeg girls beat friends in futsal final

THE GIRLS' Under-13 futsal county finals were held at Curracloe United A.F.C. grounds recently. It was very disappointing to see just three teams compete, two from the local CastlebridgeCrossabeg Area and Rathangan.

Castlebridge-crossabeg A team beat Rathangan 6-1 in the semi-final with goals from Sinéad Ronan-john, Sarah Harding-kenny, Ailis Neville (two), Fiona Kinsella and an own goal. Orla Brennan got the consolation goal but Sadbh Mccarthy was outstanding between the posts for the winners.

Castlebridge-crossabeg A team then met their friends from the B team in the final and won 10-4. Sinéad Ronan-john (four), Sarah Harding-kenny (three), Mikaela Lanigan (two)and Ailis Neville were on target, with the B team replying through Hazel Mythen (two), Abbie Devereux and Caitríona Kinsella.

Castlebridge-crossabeg A were represented by Sadbh Mccarthy, Mikaela Lanigan, Chloe Mythen, Sarah Harding-kenny, Larah Campbell, Sinéad Ronan-john, Ailis Neville and Fiona Kinsella and were managed by Adrian Carr and Paul Kenny.

Rathangan had Clodagh Redmond, Claire Mcgee, Ann-marie Bennett, Kayleigh Brennan, Aisling Lacey, Alice Harpur, Rachel Bennett and Orla Brennan and were managed by Paul Martin. The Castlebridge-crossabeg B team had Caitríona Kinsella, Sarah Whelan, Kelly Scallan, Abbie Devereux, Finola Monahan, Kirsty Fanning and Hazel Mythen.

The Under-13 boys' futsal finals were held in the Acro Sports Centre in Enniscorthy recently. Enniscorthy beat Rathgarogue-cushinstown A 9-0 in the semi-final with goals from Jack Doyle (four), Dylan Mcveigh (three), William Doyle and Jack Mythen.

Castlebridge-crossabeg also advanced with a 4-1 win over Rathgarogue-cushinstown B. The goals came from Tom Keaveney (two), Darragh Malone and Thomas O'connor while Jack Mcquaid hit back.

In a break from the norm, the two teams from Rathgarogue-cushinstown played for the third place position and did not care that there were no medals up for grabs. It ended in a scoreless draw and the A team then won on penalties.

Enniscorthy won the final 6-1 with their squad featuring Craig Foley, Jack Mythen, William Doyle, Ryan Doran, Nathan O'connor, Ciarán Sheil, Dylan Mcveigh and Jack Doyle. The runnersup from Castlebridge-crossabeg had Pádraic Jordan, Hugh Peter Manley, Darragh Malone, Tom Keaveney, Thomas O'connor, Tomás Scallan, Brandon Maltby and Martin Sliazas on their panel.

Rathgarogue-cushinstown A team had Tadhg Culleton, Patrick Barron, Evin Murphy, Jack Murphy, Jack Fleming, David Ronan, Adam Young and Jesse Quigley on their panel, while their B team had Eoin Doyle, Donal Porter, Jack Mcquaid, Niall Connolly, Cian Gaffney, Dominic Hayden and Thomas Mcgrath on their panel.

The next county meeting will take place in the Ferrycarrig Hotel on Monday next, April 30, at 8.30 p.m. Areas should send their delegates along.

First round games in the outdoor team events should be concluded by Sunday next, April 29. Please ensure that you forward your panel sheets to the county co-ordinator of the event in which you are competing. This information should have been passed on by all Area Secretaries to the relevent team managers. Results should also be texted or phoned in to the County Games Director and County P.R.O.

There are still a number of Area registration forms outstanding. Area Secretaries are reminded to forward same to Anne Cowman, Monmore, Crossabeg, Co. Wexford immediately.

Please attend to this request urgently. If you have a team competing in the early rounds of the outdoor team events, they will not be covered.

Birth certs. for all teams competing in one-day events in the county (tag rugby, futsal etc.) must be brought along on the day.

Area Secretaries are urged to make sure that their team managers are aware of this rule.


Saturday, April 28: national media awards in Athlone.

Sunday, April 29: first round matches in outdoor team events should be concluded.

Monday, April 30: county meeting in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.