Monday 20 November 2017

Chess winners hooked

Conn Fraser (Bree-Davidstown)
Conn Fraser (Bree-Davidstown)
Caitlin Murray (P'town-M'town)
Emily Walker (C'bridge-C'beg)
Gary Mernagh (Ring of Hook)
Molly Lynch (Ring of Hook)
Nathan Doyle (Bree-Davidstown)

Glynn Hall was bursting at the seams on Thursday for the county final of the Under-13 chess competition, with eight teams in action.

This was a very heartening scene as our team events have been dwindling for the past few years. Let's hope this is a sign of good times ahead in 2017.

The Piercestown-Murrintown Area had four teams in action, with Castlebridge-Crossabeg putting out two teams while the Ring of Hook and Bree-Davidstown had one team apiece.

After round one the Ring of Hook and Castlebridge-Crossabeg (first team) were in the lead on four and a half points each, with the Piercestown-Murrintown F team in third place on four points.

Round two saw Castlebridge-Crossabeg claim the full five points, with the Ring of Hook taking four points and the Piercestown-Murrintown D team coming strong to claim three and a half points.

It was down to the wire in the final round where the team from Castlebridge-Crossabeg scored three and a half points and the Ring of Hook amassing the full five points to claim their first chess title. Congratulations to them.

The runners-up came from the Castlebridge-Crossabeg team, the defending champions. This Area has had a long record in this competition and they will be back again to try to claim back that title.

For now it's the turn of the Ring of Hook to represent the county in the first round of the Leinster competition, and we hope they enjoy the experience and do well. In third place were the D team for Piercestown-Murrintown who upped the pace in rounds two and three.

The Ring of Hook team consisted of Aaron Ely, Cora Foley, Molly Lynch, Garry Mernagh and Dan Nolan. Castlebridge-Crossabeg had Bronagh Boggan, Hugh Boggan, Peter Kenny, Sarah Kenny, Gergo Aurel Szoke, Harry Sherlock and Ben Kelly on their panel.

The third-placed Piercestown-Murrintown team consisted of Leo Barry, Chloe Curtin, Dara Kelly, Caitlin Murray, Fiona O'Mahony and Sarah O'Mahony.

Others who competed were Katie Doyle, Nathan Doyle, Cathal Ennis, Conn Fraser, Odhran Kehoe, Riona Kehoe and Bill Qugley (Bree-Davidstown); Eileen Coleman, Chloe Curtin, Alfie Jeffares, Ciarán O'Connor, Ellie O'Mahony, Mia Quirke (Piercestown-Murrintown); Bobbie Crosby, Anna Jeffares, Saoirse Kearney, Daniel O'Mahony, Kevin O'Mahony, Sarah O'Mahony (Piercestown-Murrintown); Jesse Akinyemi, Sinéad Cullen, Jack Doyle, Orla Griffin, Ciarán Kelly, Caitlin Murray (Piercestown-Murrintown); James Kehoe, Cian McCormack, Harry Purcell, Max Sweetman, Emily Walker (Castlebridge-Crossabeg); Odin Doyle, Nicholas Howe, Michael Humphrey, Cormac Kehoe, Tom Quigley (Bree-Davidstown).


Saturday, February 18: county draughts competitions in Bree Hall. Competition begins at 6 p.m.

The swimming finals take place in Enniscorthy pool on Wednesday, February 22. Warm-up is at 5 p.m and the races will commence at 5.30 p.m. The closing date for receipt of entries is February 15.

The county table quiz will be held in the Ferrycarrig Hotel on Thursday, March 2. Check-in is at 6.30 p.m and the event starts at 7 p.m. Area Secretaries are reminded that they must contact the co-ordinator, Anne, on 086-1980775 three days beforehand to let her know how many teams they will have competing.

Saturday, March 11: county art and handwriting competitions to be held in Castlebridge National School. The closing date is March 4. Areas will notified of times of events once all the entries are with the county Secretary.

Entries for the cross-country relay events for boys and girls Under-12 and Under-14 as well as entries for the boys' and girls' Under-16 marathons are being sought. The closing date is March 1. Both of these competitions will take place during the national finals in Dublin on May 6.

For teams going through to the Leinster Games, they have a bye in round one (which features Kilkenny at home to Carlow). Wexford teams will travel to play the winners.

Round two matches for them are to be played between Thursday, March 9, and Saturday, March 18. The Leinster semi-finals and finals will take place in Carlow on Sunday, April 2.

Leinster Community Games will launch the 2017 Games at a special ceremony on Saturday, April 1. The launch will take place at the Talbot Hotel, Carlow, and counties are invited to attend.

Areas willing to travel and bring some young children with them, dressed in their county tracksuits, would be most welcome.

Wexford People

Promoted Links