Saturday 17 August 2019

Community Games news

Niall Reck (Castlebridge-Crossabeg, third from left), winner of the bronze medal at the HSE Community Games national finals in the Under-16 backstroke swimming final
Niall Reck (Castlebridge-Crossabeg, third from left), winner of the bronze medal at the HSE Community Games national finals in the Under-16 backstroke swimming final
Paddy Bramley from Taghmon Area, who was a competitor in the Under-12 freestyle swimming competition at the national finals held in Athlone on Saturday. Paddy finished a creditable fifth place in the final

This coming weekend, August 21/22/23, a large group of hopeful youngsters will head off to Athlone I.T. to compete in their chosen activity over the two-day festival of sport and culture.

Wexford has a large group competing in the athletic events during the weekend. It is the first time in a long number of years that no team will be in competition during this weekend, so all hopes rest on the track and field events.

Let's hope in the new season's activities that we may see an increase in Area activity and a somewhat better entry in all events. There is so much out there for children of all ages in Community Games, and it is up to us to get new people on board in our respective Areas and build a stronger community for those children in our care.

We wish each and every one of the young people competing the very best of luck and hope they enjoy the occasion and forge new friendships as well.

In the track events, girls' section, the following made it through at the county finals and earned their place at the national finals: Marbelys Fernander, Enniscorthy (Under-8 60m), Maura Doyle, Bree-Davidstown (Under-8 80m), Eva Casey, BBBCR (Under-10 100m), Abbie Doyle, Bree-Davidstown (Under-10 200m), Gracie Kehoe, Bree-Davidstown (Under-10 hurdles), Anna Jevens, Bree-Davidstown (Under-12 100m), Chloe O'Toole, Taghmon (Under-12 600m), Sabia Doyle, Clonard (Under-14 100m), Róisín O'Reilly, Clonard (Under-14 800m), Sophie Codd, Bree-Davidstown (Under-14 hurdles), Karyn Murphy, Enniscorthy (Under-16 100m), Aoife Muldoon, Bree-Davidstown (Under-16 200m), Rebecca Bawden, Ring of Hook (Under-16 1,500m).

The following boys made it through: Ronan Shannon, Ring of Hook (Under-8 60m), Kevin O'Mahoney, Piercestown-Murrintown (Under-8 80m), Dannan Long, Enniscorthy (Under-10 100m), Caolan Costello, Ring of Hook (Under-10 200m), Ryan Whelan, Bree-Davidstown (Under-10 hurdles), Dapo Abidoye, Enniscorthy (Under-12 100m), Aidan Shannon, Ring of Hook (Under-12 600m), Aaron Browne, Tintern (Under-14 100m), Luke Byrne, Adamstown (Under-14 800m), Darra Casey, Castlebridge-Crossabeg (Under-14 hurdles), Ciarán Maher, Enniscorthy (Under-16 100m), Luke O'Neill, Clonard (Under-16 200m), Evan Murphy, Enniscorthy (Under-16 1,500m).

Fresh from his silver medal success at the European Youths Olympic Festival held in Estonia recently, Ryan Carthy-Walsh from Adamstown is in his last year of competition and hopes to go out on a high, in more ways than one.

Ryan will compete in the high jump competition and is out to make it three in a row, having already won gold for the past two years.

We wish him and all the other contestants the very best of luck.

The following will be in competition: Grace O'Keeffe, BBBCR (Under-12 ball throw), Aisling Kelly, Taghmon (Under-14 long jump), Kate Jackman, Adamstown (Under-14 javelin), Méadhbh Foley, Enniscorthy (Under-14 long puck) Rachel Power, Adamstown (Under-14 shot putt), Tyra Brennan-Roche, Piercestown-Murrintown (Under-16 high jump), Marguerite Furlong, Adamstown (Under-16 discus), Shannon Wall, Newbawn-Raheen (Under-16 triple jump), Cian Turner, Glynn-Barntown (Under-12 long puck), Cormac Byrne, Adamstown (Under-12 ball throw), Conor Brennan, Piercestown-Murrintown (Under-14 shot putt) Joshua Howlett, Ring of Hook (Under-14 javelin), Raphael Abidoye, Enniscorthy (Under-14 long puck), David Obasahan, Enniscorthy (Under-16 triple jump), Ryan Carthy-Walsh, Adamstown (Under-16 high jump).

This year there is a full complement of athletes to compete in the boys' and girls' marathon events at the national finals.

The team to compete in the girls' event consists of Elaina Browne (Tintern), Annalise Crean (Bree-Davidstown), Mairéad Crean (Bree-Davidstown) and Katie-Mai McCabe (Bree-Davidstown).

The boys' team consists of Joseph Hanlon (Ring of Hook), Michael Kinsella (Enniscorthy), Dylan O'Sullivan (Enniscorthy) and Dylan McVeigh (Enniscorthy). Good luck to all.

Wexford has a marvellous record over the years in the relay events and we hope to see many of our teams coming through the heats and semi-finals and right down to the wire in the finals. Hopefully then we can cheer them on once again on the podium. Good luck to all.

Aiming for those gold medals are: Bree-Davidstown Under-10 mixed (Gracie Kehoe, Oisín Rochford, Abbie Doyle, Ryan Whelan); Enniscorthy Under-13 mixed (Ciara O'Connor, Michael Webster, Shamie Kavanagh, Precious Obasohan, David Kinsella, Anne-Marie O'Connor); Enniscorthy Under-15 mixed (Michael Abidoye, Jamie Foley, Blathnaid Fogarty, Tunmise Akinyemi); Enniscorthy Under-16 4 x 200m (Karen Murphy, Anna Kavanagh, Ross Daly, Denis Shoyeju, Tara Farrell, Ciarán Maher); Bree-Davidstown Under-12 girls (Leah Nolan, Lucy Kehoe, Anna Jevens, Donna Delahunty); Bree-Davidstown Under-12 boys (Cillian Doyle, Craig Andrews, Darragh Kehoe, Seán Fitzpatrick); Bree-Davidstown Under-14 girls (Katie Whelan, Sophie Codd, Laura Butler, Gillian Smyth); Enniscorthy Under-14 boys (Festy Ebosele, Maxwell Shoyeju, Joseph Akinyemi, Raphael Abidoye); Clonard Under-16 boys (Sam O'Neill, Luke O'Neill, Jamie Thomas, Aaron Smith, Leon Nolan).

The county bus taking the children to Athlone I.T. will leave the upper car park of Ferrycarrig Hotel on Friday, August 21, at 11 a.m. Children should wear their county tracksuit.

The bus will then continue on to Enniscorthy and the pick-up point here is on the Prom.

The bus should be there by 11.20 a.m.

Anyone not booked on the bus should contact Delores on 05391-28231 immediately.

Wexford People

Most Read