Monday 18 December 2017

Darts delight!

All-Ireland team honours for Wexford

The Wexford darts team celebrating their All-Ireland success in Clare
The Wexford darts team celebrating their All-Ireland success in Clare

The Arrows were flying straight and true for the men of Wexford recently when they fended off all-comers to win the I.N.D.O. inter-counties championship in Treacy's West County Hotel in Ennis.

It was a comprehensive final win for the Slaneyside slingers over neighbours Carlow that brought the title of All-Ireland champions after a long weekend of darts action.

The team competition kicked into the knockout stage on Sunday morning and ran all the way past sundown.

Wexford sent neighbours Kilkenny packing in the round of 16 before dispatching Donegal in the quarters.

Things ratcheted up a level in the semi-finals against Cork. Wexford trailed 4-2 after six matches but fought their way back to 5-5 in the first-to-seven contest.

With the score moving on to 6-6 it was up to John O'Hara to sent Wexford to the final which he did by taking the deciding rubber. As it happened, the final proved to be a lot less nerve-wracking.

Wexford got off to the perfect start when Philip Grace got the better of Mark Cullen. In a high-quality second game, Jack Farragher edged Richie O'Leary by three legs to two to send his county 2-0 up.

With two wins on the board, the momentum was well and truly in Wexford's favour. David Murphy hit stride to beat James English and Andrew Kavanagh, who had a great weekend in the individual competition, dispatched Jason Slattery to make it 4-0.

Wexford had their first blip when Willie Bowers edged past Michael Meaney, but Jason Cullen made sure that Carlow couldn't change the complexion of the tie when he beat Pat Murtagh to make it 5-1.

Brendan Kelly pulled another leg back for Carlow, beating Martin Murphy, but Stephen Byrne put in a stellar showing to ease past Paddy Cullen by three legs to one to move Wexford within one win of the title at 6-2.

Noel Redmond went down 3-1 to Andy Grey to give Carlow hope, but there was no stopping Kieran Kehoe from taking the title home to the south-east with a 3-1 victory over Noel Bowes.

The 7-3 victory meant that David Coyne, Stephen Walsh and John O'Hara weren't needed to come to the oche for Wexford, but their contribution was stellar throughout the event.

After beating Clare in the last eight, there was a semi-final loss for the Wexford ladies' team against eventual runners-up Donegal. In the singles both Linda Harte and Gemma Kearon made the last eight.

Wexford had two quarter-finalists in the men's singles in David Murphy and Kieran Kehoe, while Andrew Kavanagh lost out to eventual winner David Concannon in the last four.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links