Thursday 18 January 2018

Enniscorthy club over one hundred years old

THE ENNISCORTHY club was founded in 1912 and they won their first trophy in 1923, and first Towns Cup in 1926. Charlie Lett captained them to the 1927 title and they actually played as a Senior club from 1928 to 1932.

Joe Tompkins captained the 1934-winning cup team but they had a long wait before their next success in 1963 when the team was captained by well-known draper Tony Reid.

Ken Leech did a lot of good work in the schools in the '90s and that paved the way for much of today's success. They won the cup again in 1989, beating Mullingar in Athy, and that team was captained by John Bolger who has been instrumental in coaching most of the current team. The 1989 side was coached by former rugby international Tony Ensor.

The club built a new premises in 2005 under the stewardship of Paul McCrea, and Peter Perkins, Bruce Chapman and Dougie Kidd erected state of the art floodlights in 2011. Enniscorthy also won the seconds cup in 1988 captained by Len Dalton, and also in 1994 captained by Maurice Condon whose father, John, captained their 1963 winning cup team. Ferdy Williamson was the club's first Irish international and won eight caps at full-back. Bill Tector won six caps, also at full-back, and Alan Doherty won an Irish cap coming on for Mike Gibson in the 1973 President's representative match.

Tony Ensor played for Ireland on 22 occasions although he only played with Enniscorthy when he retired, Declan O'Brien, who is playing on Sunday, won 48 Leinster caps and played six matches for the Irish 'A' team.

Damian McCabe has played with De La Salle (Palmerstown) and with Connacht. Former Greystones and Irish hooker Johnny Murphy (Spud) is the club's director of rugby.

Killian Lett played Under-20 with Ireland in the 2006 World Cup. He won schools medals with Kings Hospital and has represented Leinster at under-age and also played with the Irish club team for a couple of seasons.

The club has also had a host of players that featured at representative level including Arthur Dunne, Brendan Perkins, Dominic Boyd, Tony Ryan, Fionn McSweeney, Daniel Pim, Ronan Lamb, Niall Cummins, Larry Doyle, Colin Hughes, Seán Wall, Naoise Dunbar, Conor McDonald and David Dunne. Joe Carley has played this year with the Irish and Leinster Under-18s, and the club has also won a host of under-age titles. Their last cup success was in 2012 in Portarlington as they beat Tullow 23-17. The team was captained by Sunday's full-back, Ross Barbour.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links