Wednesday 18 September 2019

Games finals to get under way in Athlone

This coming weekend, Saturday and Sunday, August 15 and 16, the Community Games National Festival of Sport and Culture will begin at Athlone I.T.

Wexford will have representation in art and handwriting, chess, swimming, grass cycling and the cultural activities.

To all the young children who will be travelling to Athlone, we wish them the very best of luck and hope they enjoy the experience of representing their Area and county.

As County P.R.O. I will be in attendance over the two-day festival and hope to catch up with many of the contestants. Good luck to each and everyone.

Please check the Community Games website for details on times and dates of the various events. Please also ensure that all competitors are in the complex at least a half an hour before the competition begins to familiarise themselves with the area.

In art the county winners were Aoife Kehoe (Clongeen), Laura Wilson, Liam O'Brien, Evan Gillen, Ros Walker (Castlebridge-Crossabeg), Dara Kelly (Piercestown-Murrintown), Katie Byrne (BBBCR) and Cian O'Grady from the Clongeen Area.

In handwriting, best of luck to Katie Kehoe (Clongeen), Liam Donovan (Bree-Davidstown), Caoimhe Monahan (Bree-Davidstown) and Nathan Rossiter from (Castlebridge-Crossabeg).

The Under-16 chess team of Joshua Redmond, Robbie Kildea, Dean Copeland, Dylan Nolan, Adam Copeland, James Kildea and Oisín O'Dwyer from the Enniscorthy Area were the Leinster winners recently and we wish them all the very best in Athlone in the national semi-finals.

In debating, a team of Sarah Byrne, Elijah Grocock, Rachel Long and Peter Rodgers from the Bree-Davidstown Area will represent the county.

A table-quiz team of Megan Deenan, Eileen Rowe, Darragh Collins and Aodhán Collins from the Piercestown-Murrintown Area will be in action for the county.

The county will be represented in swimming by Nicole Colfer, Danielle Colfer (Rathgarogue-Cushinstown); Abi Cullen, Claire Whelan, Holly Furlong, Sarah Byrne (Bree-Davidstown); Ciara Martin, Laurie Twomey, Amy Murphy (Piercestown-Murrintown); Sophie Gillot (Enniscorthy) and Ciara Bethell from Adamstown in the individual events, and by the team of Holly Furlong, Claire Whelan, Aoibhin Gahan, Abi Cullen and Ava Whelan in the Under-13 squad.

The entrants in the boys' individual events are Finn Soraine (Enniscorthy), Cael Colfer (Rathgarogue-Cushinstown), Emmet Cousins (Clonard), Paddy Bramley (Taghmon), Dillon Cousins (Clonard), Oisín Meyler (Piercestown-Murrintown), Conor Dempsey (Bree-Davidstown), Jack Nolan-Whitney (Enniscorthy), Michael Leacy (Piercestown-Murrintown), and Niall and Seán Reck from the Castlebridge-Crossabeg Area.

The Under-13 boys' squad comes from the Rathgarogue-Cushinstown Area and the members are Cael Colfer, Seán Barry, Ciarán McCarthy, Ben Myers, Donnacha McCarthy and Colin Roberts.

The county will be represented by Alice Rush from BBBCR and Billy Byrne from Bree-Davidstown in the Under-12 grass cycling categories.

The county will compete in a variety of cultural activity events. In the recitation section, Aoibh O`Toole from BBBCR will be in action.

The drama sketch group is from the Newbawn-Raheen Area and their team consists of Méadbh Wickham, Cathal Doyle, Ava Furlong, Sam Furlong, Matthew O'Neill and Colin Stephenson.

In the solo singing section we have Leah Gammell from BBBCR competing in the Under-14 category and Sarah Byrne from Bree-Davidstown in the Under-16 category.

The group singing contestants are from the BBBCR Area and will be represented by Amy Costello and Una Maguire.

Diarmuid Murphy, Newbawn-Raheen (Under-14) and Ciarán English, Newbawn-Raheen (Under-16) will be in action in the solo music events.

The group music entrants also come from the Newbawn-Raheen Area and here Diarmuid Murphy, Tom Roche and Ciarán English are in action.

Wexford People

Most Read