Wednesday 23 October 2019

Gorey seconds share spoils on trip to Dublin

Gorey 25 D.L.S.P. 25

The Gorey J2s were also in action on Saturday with an away trip to D.L.S.P.

After a nail-biting finish to their Towns Cup win over Longford, they were hoping to build momentum and form as they look forward to an away trip to Ashbourne for round two next Sunday.

The early exchanges saw Gorey open their account with a Cian Hadden penalty, but within minutes, after some good work by D.L.S.P., they were back on level terms with a penalty.

Gorey put some good phases together and, from a five-metre scrum, Ben Mason went over for the opening try. Cian Hadden converted.

Again D.L.S.P. responded and on the 30th minute their impressive number 8 crashed over for a fine try while also adding the conversion to draw the teams level.

With seconds left in the half, Gorey staged another attack and a clever kick by Garrett Bater saw full-back Jack Willoughby win the race for the touchdown. Hadden was just wide with the conversion attempt.

The second-half saw D.L.S.P. up their game and within minutes they added a try which they converted to lead for the first time on a score of 17-15.

Salmo were now growing in confidence and moving the ball at pace. After some excellent work by the pack, they added their third try to extend their lead to 22-15.

Gorey hit back with a penalty by Cian Hadden. D.L.S.P. again were quick with their response and landed another penalty, and they looked to have the game sewn up.

But Gorey are persistent and with the pack, and in particular Richard Deering and Lar Kinsella, carrying the ball into contact they were soon deep in the home '22.

A number of phases later, Garrett Bater went in under the posts for Cian Hadden to convert, drawing the teams level as the referee sounded the final whistle.

Gorey had some good performances in the backs with Brian Brooks, Jack Willoughby and Garrett Bater the pick.

Ben Mason, Lar Kinsella and Richard Deering were the best of the forwards.

Next Sunday Gorey J2s are on cup duty and travel to Ashbourne for round two. Kick-off is at 3 p.m.

Gorey: W. Rothwell, R. Deering, R. Jones, Z. Sinnott, L. Kinsella, K. Rothwell, M. Wafer, B. Mason, G. Bater, C. Hadden, R. Brooks, C. Power, D. O'Neill, T. Cleary, J. Willoughby, N. Rothwell, E. Kennedy, C. Reynolds, A. Pampagnin.

Wexford People