Thursday 22 August 2019

Gráinne grabs another award

SWIM IRELAND held its inaugural awards evening recently at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Dublin, to celebrate and honour the fantastic work and outstanding accomplishments of its athletes, coaches and volunteers in 2010.

To add to the spectacle of the evening, all past Olympians (from the aquatic disciplines) were invited to the event where they were each honoured with a commemorative Swim Ireland Olympic medal presented by Pat Hickey, President of the Olympic Council of Ireland. Over 250 members of the aquatics community were in attendance.

Among the award winners were Ballinaboola's Gráinne Murphy of Limerick Swimming Club who was named High Performance Swimmer of the Year, while Adrian O'Connor of New Ross was among the past swimmers honoured.

Most Read