Tuesday 17 July 2018

Half marathon gets a revamp for 2011

THE PETTITT'S SuperValu Wexford half marathon and relay has undergone a total revamp for 2011. The successful event has changed the date to May 22, further reduced the entry fee and rer-outed the course to take in the iconic gardens of Johnstown Castle.

They are also working with D.M.P. athletic club to deliver the showcase event. 'Last year we clashed with two major national running events and also the feeling was that the course was too tough. We listened and made the requested changes', says race organiser Eoin Ryan.

The new course still contains sections of the old route such as the Bridge and the Quays, but is much flatter and will subsequently be much faster. There are no hills on the new course which should make the event more enticing to the casual runners and joggers.

However, the 21.1 km. distance still remains the target but there is also a relay team option to allow people of all levels of fitness to partake.

There are training tips and a half-marathon training plan on the website to give some guidance on how to get started if you are taking on the challenge for the first time.

Last year the event reduced the entry fee by €5 to acknowledge the recession. In 2011 the organisers have reduced the fee once more and capped it at €40, with an early bird offer of €35 until January 15.

The annual free children's fun run will once again take place on the Quays before the adults finish at the Talbot Hotel.

'There is a lot to look forward to and I'm delighted to hear there is a sense of anticipation brewing for the 2011 event,' Ryan said.


Dominic Ryan and Fiona Kehoe were triumphant in the My Sport County Wexford Senior cross-country championships that were hosted by St. Paul's and held in Kilrane on Sunday last.

Men's 10 km. race: 1, Dominic Ryan (Sliabh Buidhe Rovers), 32.48; 2, Tom Hogan (Racing 795), 33.25; 3, Tommy McElwaine (S.B.R.), 34.16; 4, David Barron (Slaney Olympic), 34.30; 5, Ted Flannelly (S.O.), 34.50; 6, Ger Moloney (St. Paul's), 35.38; 7, Pádraig Moriarty (S.O.), 35.45; 8, Willie Rossiter (S.B.R.), 36.17; 9, Jim Stafford (S.O.), 36.32; 10, Paul Gibbons (S.B.R.), 36.38; 11, Denis Moynihan (S.B.R.), 36.39; 12, Martin Monaghan (S.O.), 36.40; 13, Mick Jordan (S.O.), 36.50; 14, Bernard Fortune (S.B.R.), 37.22; 15, Richard Fortune (D.M.P.), 37.23; 16, Eugene Doherty (S.B.R.), 37.24; 17, (S.B.R.), 38.32; 18, Seán Murphy (United Striders), 38.46; 19, Raymond Byrne (S.B.R.), 38.55; 20, Fergus Murphy (S.O.), 39.02; 21, Brian Murphy (S.O.), 39.18; 22, Mick Morrissey (S.O.), 39.43; 23, Bobby Redmond (S.O.), 39.44; 24, Brendan Radford (D.M.P.), 40.06; 25, Martin Mimnagh (Racing 795), 40.48; 26, Mick Nolan (S.O.), 41.21; 27, Paul Murphy (S.O.), 41.33; 28, Paul McGovern (D.M.P.), 42.14; 29, Dermot Foley (Menapians), 42.16; 30, Ciarán Bates (Menapians), 42.23; 31, Emmett Malone (United Striders), 42.30; 32, Adrian Ryan (Racing 795), 43.10; 33, Billy Reck (S.O.), 43.24; 34, Paul Foley (Kilmore A.C.), 49.48; 35, Billy Harpur (S.B.R.), 57.55.

Ladies' 5 km. race: 1, Fiona Kehoe (Kilmore A.C.), 18.18; 2, Jackie Carty (Kilmore A.C.), 18.52; 3, Ciara Wilson (D.M.P.), 19.42; 4, Annaleigh Hore (Kilmore A.C.), 21.16; 5, Helen Doyle (Kilmore A.C.), 22.12; 6, Sharon Kehoe (Kilmore A.C.), 22.37; 7, Fran Barden (Kilmore A.C.), 23.57; 8, Michelle Doyle (Slaney Olympic), 27.15.

Most Read