Saturday 25 November 2017

Individual silver for Forde

Ger Forde
Ger Forde

The Leinster Senior open cross-country championship and Juvenile relays took place in Kilmacow on Sunday, with Wexford taking its fair share of the spoils in what is technically termed the first day of Leinster championship cross-country for 2016.

After the recent respite from rain and muck, the weather returned to damp and slippery underfoot conditions once again for the event, in true cross-country style.

Hosted by St. Senan's A.C., the Senior men's race brought a much-improved medal haul to Wexford athletes. Ger Forde of Slaney Olympic continued his very good run of form over the distance this season with an individual silver medal, leading to the Wexford men scoring second in the county competition, backed up by a strong S.B.R. contingent.

The Ferns club's team performance earned them bronze in the club category. This is heartening progress at Leinster Senior level following a very good show in the Intermediate and Novice grades by the men of the county earlier in the season. The backbone of Striders, S.B.R. and Slaney continues to form the basis of the county panel, with D.M.P. also growing in strength this season.

In the Junior men's race, Liam Turner of D.M.P. was but one place off the podium, unlucky to finish in fourth after a very respectable battle for the bronze with a Kilkenny athlete.

At Juvenile level both D.M.P. and United Striders were in the medals with strong relay teams. The Under-12 United Striders team of Myles Hewlitt, Cosmo Hewlitt, Finn Kelly and Eoin Shannon won a set of silver medals with the boys of D.M.P. not far behind in fourth.

In the Under-14 boys an emphatic victory was in store for the Barrowsiders' team of Aidan Shannon, Owen Lennon, Darragh Flannelly and anchor Adam O'Connor, running 500m each, with all but one of the boys out of age.

One of the highlights of the day was the Under-16 boys' relay, an extremely profitable event for Wexford with D.M.P's boys' team of Conor Brennan, Glen Carroll, Joao Baeta Perpira and Adam Kehoe taking gold. In second place in the same race was the United Striders team of Patrick Doyle, Conor Murphy, Cian Flanagan and Aaron Browne, giving the Model county complete dominance in the event.

The A.G.M. of Athletics Wexford takes place in Enniscorthy on Wednesday (January 20) with few changes expected at the top table, with the exception of County Secretary where Jane Porter (Slaney Olympic) will stand down after two years of highly-efficient service.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links