Sunday 22 September 2019

Ladies left with some vacancies on top table

Denis Nolan (Chairman, centre) making presentations to retiring officers Tom Whelan, Breda Curran (on behalf of Sharon Drennan), Yvonne Flynn and Karen Scallan
Denis Nolan (Chairman, centre) making presentations to retiring officers Tom Whelan, Breda Curran (on behalf of Sharon Drennan), Yvonne Flynn and Karen Scallan

There was a large attendance at the Wexford Ladies' Gaelic Football Board annual Convention in Ferrycarrig Hotel recently, with delegates from 33 of the 34 clubs affiliated.

Chairman Denis Nolan thanked the various officers and sub-committees for all their work during 2016 and for their detailed reports.

He also thanked all county managers and their management teams, our players, parents/guardians and supporters, the various business and individuals for their sponsorship towards our fundraising events, and the media for their continued promotion of our game.

Officers elected were: President, John Hanton (Fethard St. Mogue's); Chairman, Denis Nolan (Taghmon-Camross); Vice-Chairman, Billy Stafford (St. Anne's); Secretary, position vacant; Assistant Secretary, Ian Plunkett (Baile Dubh Tíre); Treasurer, Tony Cardiff (Kilmore); Assistant Treasurer, Darren Murphy (St. Martin's); Registrar, Breda Curran (Shelmalier); P.R.O., position vacant; Cultural and Language Officer, Paudge Brennan (St. Martin's); Development Officer, Robbie Garland (Baile Dubh Tíre); Children's Officer, Myra Gough; Assistant P.R.O., Breda Curran (Shelmalier); Leinster Council delegates, Billy Stafford and Seamus Kelly; Central Council delegates, Leona Tector and Michael O'Neill: Fixtures committee: Chairman, Michael O'Neill (Clonee); Secretary, Ann Doyle (Crossabeg-Ballymurn); also Ian Plunkett (Baile Dubh Tíre), Amy Eustace (Clongeen), Bridget Power (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy), Seamus Kelly (HWH-Bunclody); Grading committee: Amy Eustace (Clongeen), Monica Halligan (Sarsfields), Ian Plunkett (Baile Dubh Tíre), Tommy Kelly (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy), Michael Power (Baile Dubh Tíre), Getta McDonald (Crossabeg-Ballymurn); Development committee: Robbie Garland (Baile Dubh Tíre, Chairman), Nicola Fortune (Kilmore), M.J. Berry (Kilmore), Peter O'Brien (Bannow-Ballymitty), John Barry (Sarsfields); Investigation committee: Chairman to be elected by the committee, also Bernie Byrne (Ballygarrett), Eddie Kehoe (Shelmalier), Michelle O'Brien (Adamstown), Suzanne Brennan (Clonard), Michael Power (Clonard), Sarah O'Neill (Clonee), Donnacha McDonald (Crossabeg-Ballymurn), Seán O'Neill (Rathgarogue-Cushinstown).

County team managers: Senior, Anthony Masterson (Castletown); Minor, Paul Kenny (Shelmalier); Under-16, M.J. Berry (Kilmore); Under-14, Peter O'Brien (Bannow-Ballymitty).

Denis Nolan made presentations to the outgoing officers: Yvonne Flynn (Secretary), Karen Scallan (Treasurer), Sharon Drennan (P.R.O.) and Thomas Whelan (Fixtures Chairman).

Yvonne served as Co. Secretary from January, 2015, while Karen was Co. Treasurer from November, 2014, and also served as Co. Registrar from November, 2010, to November, 2015.

Thomas served as Co. Development Officer from December, 2011, to November, 2015. Prior to 2011 he served on the Fixtures committee, and during his time as Development Officer he was also on the Grading committee.

Sharon, one of the longest-serving members, first became involved with Wexford L.G.F. in 2004, giving twelve years' service. She worked on the Fixtures committee, filling the role of Chairperson and also Secretary and Fixtures P.R.O.

Sharon helped with programmes, gates and organising Under-10 teams for our finals, and she took up the positon of P.R.O. in November, 2015. Denis thanked them for their time and commitment to Wexford L.G.F.

Wexford have four home and three away games in the 2017 NFL as follows: January 29, home to Tipperary; February 5, home to Offaly; February 19, home to Limerick; February 26, away to Leitrim; March 19, away to Meath; March 26, home to Down; April 2, away to Roscommon.

The Leinster fixtures have also been released. The Minor preliminary round is on March 4 against Longford with the venue to be confirmed, while the Under-14s will play their first round away to Offaly on March 11.

The Under-16s are home to Kilkenny on March 12, while the Intermediates will also be home to Wicklow on May 28.

Wexford People

Most Read