Wednesday 23 October 2019

Major changes at the top

Wexford Community Games have a new County Chairman and a new County Secretary, and they were warmly welcomed on board at the re-convened A.G.M. in the Ferrycarrig Hotel recently.

County President Margaret McDermott welcomed the delegates and National Board member Eileen O`Doherty. Margaret said it was an honour for her to welcome all to the meeting on the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Games movement.

Outgoing County Chairperson Michelle Byrne said she was proud of what the group of people in the room have achieved, county officers, Area officers and volunteers, all working together. She thanked the people on the ground and in each area who are working so hard for Community Games.

Each year she said it is becoming more apparent that an Area is being run by a small number of individuals and without their contribution there would be no Community Games.

Wexford competed exceptionally well at the national finals and the competitors were congratulated by the county Secretary in her report. She thanked all the Area Secretaries who adhered to all deadlines set by national, some even at short notice.

The County P.R.O. complimented the People newspaper staff for their coverage of the Games activities down through the years. She said she looked forward to their continued support in the coming year.

She also thanked her assistant, Michelle Carr, who gave her such help with the Facebook page and who took on the role of answering queries from Area personnel.

County Treasurer Jason Moran had a detailed report on the finances and said that the accounts were looking good. This in part was due to the people who allocated funds so generously to the organisation.

He thanked Wexford County Council members, Funge's of Gorey, Pettitt's, the County Council members of Wexford, Enniscorthy and Gorey Districts, Local Community Grant Scheme 2017 and Sports Active Wexford.

He also thanked companies and businesses who placed advertisements in the Festival of Sport and Culture programme, to the new advertisers who also came on board during the year, and to his father, James Moran, who contacted people to provide advertisements for the programme.

Jason also reported on the activities and how the county fared during the year. As acting Games Director, he said that there were larger numbers in some of the team events and in individual events too.

A large number of teams went forward to the Leinster preliminary rounds and to the semi-finals and finals in Carlow. One team, the girls' Under-13 rounders crew from the Piercestown-Murrintown Area, came through the Leinster final and went on to take gold in Abbotstown at the national finals.

He encouraged all Areas to try to up their participation in team events, such as badminton, chess, draughts, soccer and skittles. Somehow we have to improve our team participation within the county.

He thanked all Areas who hosted events, and those who acted as co-ordinators, referees, judges and stewards. He also thanked the management of Enniscorthy Swimming Pool, the Hub in Enniscorthy, the Rugby Club in Enniscorthy, Gorey Gymnastic Club, and Ferrycarrig hotel for the use of their premises.

Three members of the County Board stepped down: County Chairperson Michelle Byrne, County Secretary Sinéad O'Leary, and County Assistant Secretary Melanie Ryan, who all resigned due to work and family commitments.

County President Margaret McDermott thanked all for their hard work and dedication over the past two years. All three of them came on board at a new phase for the organisation, with the setting up of the online registration system for Areas and County committees, and new rules coming in fast and furious.

They handled the workload very competently and were always on hand to advise area Secretaries. We do hope to see them working in their Areas in the coming years and hopefully working at county level once more.

Fears were growing that these very important positions would not be filled. Thankfully, a new Chairman was found in Pádraig Byrne from the Kilanerin Area. This Area has come back into the fold this year, following a long lapse, and we wish them every success. With Pádraig there to advise them, we hope they continue to grow in confidence.

The new County Secretary is Castlebridge/Crossabeg local Secretary Michelle Carr, who has also held the position of County Youth Officer. A very capable young woman, we are sure the Games are in safe hands. She will have the backing of Sinéad O`Leary and Melanie Ryan who will give her every support and help.

Officers elected: President, Margaret McDermott; Vice- President, Kathleen Howlett; Chairman, Pádraig Byrne; Vice-Chairman, John Hanlon; Secretary, Michelle Carr; Assistant Secretaries, Sinéad O'Leary and Melanie Ryan; Treasurer, Jason Moran; Assistant Treasurer, Eilish Kehoe; P.R.O., Anne Cowman; Acting Games Director:, Jason Moran; Youth Officer, Dylan Kehoe; N.E.C. delegates, Jason Moran and sub. Anne Cowman; Leinster delegates, Anne Cowman, Adrian Carr; delegates to national A.G.M., Jason Moran, Anne Cowman, Kathleen Howlett.

The Children's Officer position will be filled at the first meeting of the new County Board, and names should be forwarded by Areas. A new development and appeals committee is also needed, so once again Areas should be willing to contribute by forwarding names of people who will help out.

There were a few motions sent in from the Bree/Davidstown Area and these will be forwarded to the national A.G.M.

The recommendations from the Castlebridge/Crossabeg Area will be taken on board by the new executive.

The Castlebridge/Crossabeg Area were announced as the 2017 best area in the county, with Bree/Davidstown as the runners-up. The winners will go forward to the national presentation of awards in Enfield, Co. Meath, on Saturday, November 25.

The Taghmon Area will be the county representatives in the 'small area' category. Dylan Kehoe from the Glynn-Barntown Area will be the representative in the youth volunteer section, and Piercestown-Murrintown will have a representative present for the adult volunteer of the year category.

Wexford People