Sunday 19 January 2020

Moll's best run of night


There was an all-graded card at Enniscorthy Dog Track on Thursday and there were some very eye-catching runs recorded.

Piercestown Moll had the honour of the best run of the night after flying out of traps in race eight, an A1/2 525.

She held her lead into the third bend where her main challenger, Strictly Sand, got checked and that settled the result as Moll set sail for home.

She was always going to score as she stays well and ran out a snug winner in the end from Strictly Sand in a very good time of 28.61, her 16th career win for owner 'Shanks' Whelan.

Tagalong Hawkeye returned to winning ways in race seven, an A2/3 575, as he also led and opened up an unassailable lead down the back straight. As hard as Kiltrea Brian tried to bridge the gap, he was two lengths shy of Tagalong at the winning line in a good time of 31.56, his 14th race win for owner Dermot Flynn.

The last race of the night was a very competitive A2/3 525, and Ballinclare Lad led the field into the home straight. The challengers were coming on all sides on the run to the line, with Ballinaboola Net looking to get there, only to be foiled by the flying late finish of Kaleighs Cailin who got up right on the line to bring her winning tally into double figures in a time of 29.02 for owners Kaleigh and Matthew O'Connor, Enniscorthy.

June 12 results - race one, Kearns Fruit Farm S4/S5 350: 1, Bluegrange Tom (owner, Bernadette Carroll, Co. Dublin; trainer, J.A. Hand), 19.29.

Race two, Michael Farrell Custom Furniture A8/A9 525: 1, Leahs Daisy (owner, John Atkinson, Enniscorthy), 29.76.

Race three, Simon Kavanagh Motors A7/A8 525: 1, Glenbrien Glint (owner, Kathleen Stamp, Glenbrien), 29.56.

Race four, Dawsons Pub, Enniscorthy A4/A5 525: 1, Abbies Arc (owner, Damien Kennedy, Coolcotts), 29.58.

Race five, Duffry Rovers GAA A5 525: 1, You Go Mayo (owners, Michael Cawley and Revis Marley, Dublin), 30.06.

Race six, Jordans Pub & Grocery Ballindaggin A4 525: 1, Tintern Vixen (owner, Michael J. Walsh; trainer, John Kavanagh, Enniscorthy), 29.36.

Race seven, Monbeg Racing Stables A3 525: 1, Ballinaboola Ace (owner, Niamh Murphy, Ballinaboola), 29.52.

Race eight, The Holy Grail Pub Ballindaggin A2/A3 525: 1, Ravens Jester (owners, John Somers and John Kavanagh; trainer, John Kavanagh, Enniscorthy), 29.16.

June 15 results - race one, Welcome to Enniscorthy A7 525: 1, Edermine Pat (owner, Patrick O'Gorman, Edermine), 29.67.

Race two, Club Wexford Fundraiser Thursday 6th July A6/A7 525: 1, Ballinaboola Golf (owner, Philip Coleman, Co. Wexford), 29.26

Race three, A6 525: 1, Slaneyside Poppy (owner, Derek Kehoe, Thurles, Co. Tipperary), 29.32.

Race four, The Trackside Diner A5 525: 1, Ballymurn Royal (owners, Brendan and Michael McDonald, Ballymurn), 29.26.

Race five, The Track Bar A3/A4 525: 1, Miniinthebox (owner, Susan Simpson, Co. Wicklow), 29.29.

Race six, Unrecorded Trials Saturday Morning A3 525: 1, Tandom (owners, Masson Hassett syndicate, Dundrum, Co. Dublin), 29.15.

Race seven, Official Trials Before Racing on Thursdays A2/A3 575: 1, Tagalong Hawkeye (owner, Dermot Flynn, Enniscorthy), 31.56.

Race eight, Leinster Hurling Final Sunday 2nd July A1/A2 525: 1, Piercestown Moll (owner, Seamus Whelan, Piercestown), 28.61.

Race nine, The Closing Bumper A2/A3 525: 1, Kaleighs Cailin (owners, Kaleigh and Matthew O'Connor, Enniscorthy), 29.02.

Wexford People

Most Read