Sunday 17 December 2017

Nearly 500 runners visit Enniscorthy for 10k

The annual Enniscorthy 10k, hosted by Slaney Olympic Athletic Club, took place on Sunday. An impressive array of runners lined up on the start line including international athlete Lizzie Lee of Leevale in Cork who was hoping to break the course record of 32:53 set by Irish Olympiad Linda Byrne in 2012.

Close on 500 runners lined up at the start at Clonhaston at 12 noon. From the off international hill runner, Killian Mooney of D.S.D., moved into the lead, benefiting from the uphill first 1k. Close in pursuit was Thomas Hayes of Kilkenny City Harriers with Lizzie Lee lying third, a position she held over the first couple of kilometres of the race.

Killian's time at the halfway point was 15:36 which made breaking the men's record of 29:35 a difficult challenge despite the fact that the final stages of the race are fast downhill. Lizzie's time put her within reach of breaking the record.

The weather which had been good for the first 25 minutes of the race dealt a bad hand to the leaders in the closing stages, with a bitter hail shower hindering progress. Killian crossed the finish line in 30:56 followed by Thomas Hayes in 31:22. Stephen Lawlor of St. Abban's finished third in 32:02.

Attention then turned to Lizzie Lee's attempt on the women's record. She crossed the line in 33:00, just seven seconds outside the record. Second lady home was Sally Forristal of St. Joseph's in 38:08. Donna Mahon of Rathfarnham was third in 38:28.

The men's team prize went to a strong quartet from Raheny Shamrocks: Simon Ryan, Brian Leahy, David Kirwan and David Grange. Host club, Slaney Olympic, took second team prize with great runs from Martin Monaghan, Billy Reck, Kevin Murphy and David Kehoe.

There was a further victory for Slaney Olympic with the women's team of Julie Kirwan, Catherine Murphy, Emily Waldron-O'Connor and Kelly Long taking first place. The ladies of Slí Cualann of Wicklow took second team prize.

The Masters categories brought great success for the local clubs. Slaney Olympic's Martin Monaghan and Kevin Murphy won the M40 and M50 titles respectively. Richard Kavanagh of Slí Cualann was first Over-60 and the legendary Billy Harpur of S.B.R. was first Over-70.

For the Masters women, Aisling Kirwan of Parnell was the Over-40 winner, Ann Sullivan of D.M.P. won Over-50, and Annis Kehoe of Slaney Olympic was the Over-60 champion. The Under-20 category winners were Nick Moloney and Deirdre Byrne.

Race Director, Jane Porter, thanked Creane & Creane Insurance and Donohoe Skoda for their headline sponsorship and also the numerous other sponsors who supported the race.

She also thanked St. Senan's School and Shamrocks G.A.A. club for the use of their facilities, the Red Cross for providing ambulance services, and everyone else who helped out with the race.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links