Friday 24 January 2020

Striders seal winter league

Ross club's outright victory

Lauren Phelan and Hannah Carney (United Striders)
Lauren Phelan and Hannah Carney (United Striders)
Tadhg Mac Eochaidh with the trophy
Róisín O’Reilly, Emma O’Leary, Anoushka Nolan, Eimear Halpin and Sinéad O’Neill from Menapians - the best overall girls’ team
Members of the successful United Striders squad with the spoils of success
Kelly Corbett, Oisín Mac Eochaidh, Finbarr Kelly, Aidan Shannon, Darragh Flannelly, Ciara Murphy and Aaron Browne from the triumphant United Striders (New Ross) team

The final leg of the Wexford winter league was held in the Enniscorthy Sports Hub on Sunday. The weather was pleasant for the event, a welcome respite after some miserably cold days.

The league was an outstanding success with over 200 athletes taking part in each leg. There were some very impressive performance by young Wexford athletes at the event.

A big achievement in the league is to win three races.

This year eleven athletes achieved this feat, winning winter league star awards.

Those honoured were: Léa Bolger (Bree, Under-9 girls); Victoria Kunz (St. Paul's, Under-10 girls); Abbie Doyle (Bree, Under-12 girls); Erinn Shannon (United Striders, Under-15 girls); Róisín O'Reilly (Menapians, Under-16 girls); Shane Laffan (Bree, Under-8 boys); Jayden Kenny (Bree, Under-9 boys); Cian Donovan (Menapians, Under-10 boys); Kevin O'Mahoney (D.M.P., Under-11 boys); Darragh Flannelly (United Striders, Under-14 boys); Aaron Browne (United Striders, Under-16 boys).

Importantly, the winter league is a participation event and every performance counts.

There was a very exciting inter-club competition, with points being awarded to all finishers.

United Striders, who had a successful outing at the national cross-country championships in Dublin in November, had another good weekend, winning the overall inter-club competition and the best boys' club. Menapians won the girls' competition.

Overall: United Striders, 1,100.5; Menapians, 1.237.5; Bree, 1,347.5; D.M.P., 1,388; S.B.R., 1,447; Enniscorthy, 1,436; St. Paul's, 1,455; Taghmon, 1,560.5; Croghan, 1,591; St. Killian's, 1,595.

Girls: Menapians, 589; D.M.P., 643; United Striders, 653; Bree, 679.5; S.B.R., 700; St. Paul's, 719; Enniscorthy, 731.5; Taghmon, 769; St. Killian's, 794; Croghan, 804.

Boys: United Striders, 447.5; Menapians, 648.5; Bree, 668; Enniscorthy, 704.5; St. Paul's, 736; D.M.P., 745; S.B.R., 747; Croghan, 787; Taghmon, 791.5; St. Killian's, 801.

The following athletes took part in all three legs of the league and will be receiving medals for this achievement: Ruby Gallagher-O'Reilly, Aidan Wall, Billy Doyle, Jack Doyle, James Wall, Shane Laffan, Jayden Kenny, Léa Bolger, P.J. Breen, Sam Devereux, Chloe Casey, Ciara Laffan, Conn Fraiser, Keira Wilson, Maura Doyle, Harry Devereux, Katie Doyle, Abbie Doyle, Conor Doyle (Bree); Judy Sinnott, Saoirse Flanagan, Kevin Whelan, Sarah O'Mahoney, Aoife Walsh, Cian O'Dowd, Kevin O'Mahoney, Layla Stafford, Rachel Whelan, Cara Kelly, Ellie O'Mahoney, Ellie Stafford (D.M.P.); Aaron Larkin, Helena Doyle, Oisín Tyrrell, Neasa Long, Tomás Brennan, Jack Browne, Lilly Gadacz, Stephanie O'Connor, Roan Oakes, Shane Devereux (Enniscorthy A.C.); Amy Rayner, Archie Rennick, Jim Kelly, Zach Hammill, Issy Kearney, Laragh Walsh, Oran Naluswa, Abigail Quinn, Cian Donovan, Rúairi McGuinness, Eimear Halpin, Katrina Rosca, Nathan Murphy, Adam Leahy, Róisín O'Reilly (Menapians); Aoife Byrne, Enda Byrne, Ava Lacey, Aidan Bowe, Conor Lacey, Orlaith Byrne, Orlaith Deegan (S.B.R.); Alfie Codd, Caoimhe Ryan, Kaiden Cloke, Olivia Ponzi, Tadhg Wright, Elijah Paige-Redmond, Lucia Donohoe, Peter Stefanov, Victoria Kunz, Lucas Paige-Redmond, Rob Sterling (St. Paul's); Emma Crane, Kayleigh Butler, Deirbhile O'Dwyer, Gráinne Kelly, Orla Kelly (Taghmon); Hannah Carney, Lauren Phelan, Roan Kananagh, Conor Meehan, Max Murphy, Charlie Alfred, Sam Myers, Aoife Barry, Saibh Rossiter, Tommaso Hickey, Seán Lennon, Aoife Lyng, Ben Myers, Conor Rossiter, Isabella Browne, Eoin Shannon, Ciara Murphy, Darragh Flannelly, Erinn Shannon, Eve Byrne, Louise Doyle, Aaron Browne, Cian Flanagan (United Striders).

A big thanks to all who helped out and well done to everybody who took part in the league. Full results are available on the Athletics Wexford website.

Next weekend the Wexford county Intermediate cross-country championships take place on Sunday, while on Sunday, December 17, the Athletics Ireland Juvenile uneven age and Novice cross-country championships take place in Waterford I.T.

Wexford People

Most Read