Sunday 17 December 2017

Strong show from holders

Scorthy see off Dundalk

Leinster League Division 1A titleholders Enniscorthy produced their best performance so far this season to overcome a determined Dundalk outfit at the Ross Road on Saturday.

Enniscorthy 28 Dundalk 19

The return of Joe Bulmer to the pack and Killian Lett to the back line provided the leadership required and played a major part in this victory.

Out-half Ivan Poole opened the scoring after two minutes with a 35-metre penalty. This was closely followed by a try from left wing Hugh O'Neill who sprinted on to a neat pass after a fine break from scrum-half Arthur Dunne.

Enniscorthy increased this lead initially after winning a line-out and then pounding the visitors' line before finding space for flanker Greg Jacob to dive over for their second try, which Poole converted.

By now Enniscorthy were in total command. A fine break up the middle by prop Angelo Todisco was carried on by Arthur Dunne who transferred to hooker Davy Murphy to score under the posts. Poole's conversion increased the lead to 20 points.

Dundalk did, however, come back with a try just before the interval to bring the score to 20-7.

The home side seemed to switch off after the interval and when the Dundalk pack drove over for their second try it brought the gap to just six points.

The home team's response was swift. Centre Killian Lett took a quick penalty 15 metres out and made good ground. Again the pack pounded the visitors' line.

From the ruck Greg Jacob dived over for his second try, which Poole converted.

This fourth try secured a valuable bonus point.

Dundalk's try from a line-out drive came a little late for them with only four minutes left on the clock. Enniscorthy comfortably saw out the rest of the game to record a bonus point win.

Coaches Joe Bulmer and Ross Barbour will be well pleased with this improved performance. The line-out provided a constant supply of good ball, and the scrum settled well after a shaky start.

The team travels to Ashbourne next Saturday for the second round of matches.

Team: Angelo Todisco (James Doyle, 60), David Murphy, Tony White (Paddy Waters, HT), Tomás Stamp, Joe Bulmer, Tom Ryan, Greg Jacob, Nick Doyle, Arthur Dunne, Ivan Poole, Hugh O'Neill, Daniel Pim (capt.), Killian Lett, Ivan Jacob, Ross Barbour. Subs. - David Shore, Aaron Coleman, Paddy Waters, James Doyle, John Daly.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links