Saturday 20 January 2018

Time for Areas to register

A reminder to all Community Games Areas that they should be registered at this stage. Any Area needing assistance to get up and running for the year should contact the county Secretary.

The first county meeting for 2016 will be held in the Ferrycarrig Hotel on Monday, February 22, at 8.30 p.m.

A reminder to all volunteers working within Community Games, be it as a team manager, an assistant or an officer, that they must be Garda vetted to help out.

The forms can be downloaded online, and it takes a few minutes to fill in.

When completed the form should be put in a sealed envelope, marked 'Garda Vetting', and returned to Community Games headquarters.

There is a vacancy for a Children's Officer at Wexford Community Games. Names should be with the county Secretary for selection at the next county meeting.

This is a very important role and must be filled in for 2016.

The Castlebridge-Crossabeg and Bree-Davidstown Areas contested the final of the Under-13 Community Games chess competition recently at Kyle Forge in Crossabeg.

Grateful thanks to Jim Doyle and Stasia Reilly who adjudicated, and to the children and their parents for their attendance.

These two Areas have been very much to the fore in chess competitions over the past number of years, and Castlebridge-Crossabeg were also the outgoing champions.

They are now the new county champions for 2016 and we wish them the very best of luck in the Leinster rounds in a few months. The team took control of the final and were worthy winners on a four and a half points to a half point scoreline.

Pádraic O'Carroll and his Bree-Davidstown opponent, Michael Humphrey, had a great battle with each sharing a game.

Cathal Gormley and Cormac Kehoe (B-D) also battled it out with Cathal finally winning both games.

Ronan Brennan for Castlebridge-Crossabeg also saw off the challenge of Bree's Odhran Kehoe, while Hugh Boggan also defeated his opponent, Nicholas Howe.

Matthew Molloy brought Castlebridge-Crossabeg's success to a conclusion with a two games win over Odin Doyle.

Castlebridge-Crossabeg also had Sarah Kenny and Bronagh Boggan on their panel.

Dates for the diary - Monday, February 22: first county meeting of the year in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.

Friday/Saturday/Sunday, March 4/5/6: national Community Games A.G.M. in Waterford.

Saturday, March 12: county art and handwriting competitions in Castlebridge National School.

The 2016 Leinster semi-finals and finals will be held in Carlow on July 2, with first round matches to be played between May 27 and June 8, and second round matches to be played between June 10 and June 22.

Carlow are at home this year to Wexford teams and Kilkenny has the bye. Kilkenny will then travel to play the winners of the Carlow v. Wexford matches in round two.

Leinster Community Games held its Annual General Meeting in the Talbot Hotel, Carlow, recently. Outgoing Chairman Liam Lyons extended a warm welcome to all delegates and his fellow officers.

He paid tribute to Kildare Community Games for hosting the Leinster Games in 2015 and to Theresa Harrison who as games director put in one hundred per cent effort into the running of the various activities.

He also said he was sorry to see some officers retiring from their position, in particular Pauline Egan who has been Leinster Secretary for the past year and who turned out to be very efficient and dedicated to her job.

Also leaving the top table was Rita Timmons who has worked hard as Leinster Registrar for the past few years.

Our success, he said, is won by the hard work behind the scenes, by a lot of people on Area and county committees, and also by volunteers who selflessly give of their time to train and coach children in the various activities.

To all these people, he offered sincere thanks. 'Your efforts are greatly appreciated,' he said.

The following officers were elected: Kieran Darcy, Offaly (Chairman); Val Finnegan, Meath (Vice-Chairman); Phyllis Farrell, Wicklow (Secretary); Kathleen Cross, Kildare (Assistant Secretary); Mary Brett-Kelly, Wicklow (Treasurer); Martin Carroll, Kildare (P.R.O.); Catherine Whelan, Laois (Registrar); Fiona Gilmore, Meath (Development Officer); Michaela Fox, Longford (Youth Officer); Liam Lyons, Carlow (Games Director); Des Carroll, Laois (N.E.A.C. delegate); Lesley Weldon, Dublin (National Security); Des Carroll, Laois (National A.G.M. delegate); Des Carroll, Laois (National Appeals delegate); Maureen Quinlan, Dublin (National Appeals sub-delegate); Breda Reid, Wicklow, Anne Cowman, Wexford, John Mahon, Kilkenny, Annie Rawlinson, Offaly (Leinster Appeals committee).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links