Sunday 22 September 2019

United Striders in command

Athletics: Winter League Report

Athletes tearing around the track
Athletes tearing around the track
Action from last Friday night's meet
Taking it all in his stride in Enniscorthy

The second round of the winter league got under way on Friday night on the track in Enniscorthy.

The competition was good with excellent races at all age groups and some keenly contested finishes.

The evening of racing started with a race for tiny tots.

Lea Bolger of Bree won the under-8 girls, with Niamh White (Menapians) second and Kate Tomkins of SBR third.

Ciara Laffan of Bree won the under-9, with Chloe Casey (Bree) second, and Eabha Keane of DMP third.

The under-10 went to Katie Doyle of Bree with Stephanie Deegan of SBR second and Moya Corbett (United Striders) third.

Abbie Doyle of Bree was first in the under-11, with Cliona Kearney of Menapians second and Danielle Stone of DMP third.

Under-12 honours went to Orlaith Deegan of SBR with Ailbhe White (Menapians) second and Leona Berry (United Striders) in third.

Chloe O'Toole of Taghmon won the under-13 with Ciara Martin (St Pauls) second and Saidhbh Byrne of Enniscorthy third.

Erin Shannon of United Striders won the under-14 girls with Clodagh Foran of Striders second and Emma Carr of St Pauls third.

The under-15 result went to Roisin O'Reilly of Menapians with Maeve Hayes of St Pauls second and Ellie Quinn of Striders third.

Grace Costello won the under-16 ahead of Rebecca Bawden and Alannah Byrne, all of United Striders.

In the boys Jayden Kenny (Bree) won the under-8 from Elijah Page of St Pauls in second and Thomas Brennan of EAC in third.

Cian Donovan of Bree won the under-9 from Alfie Whelan of Menapians and Sean O'Brien of United Striders in third.

The under-10 result went to Kevin O'Mahoney of DMP followed by Ronan Shannon of United Striders and Sam Myers of United Striders back in third.

Sean Lennon (United Striders) took the result in the under-11 with Patrick Kinsella of SBR second and Ben O'Toole of Taghmon third.

Darragh Breen of SBR won the under-12 from Caolan Costello of United Striders and David Kirwan SBR third.

Conor Doyle of Bree won the under-13 with Owen Lennon second and Oisin Mac Eochaidh third (US).

Adam O'Connor of United Striders won the under-14, Nathan Murphy of Menapians was second ahead of team mate Sean White.

Aaron Browne of United Striders won the under-15 from team mate Cian Flannigan with Shane O'Neill (Menapians) third.

The under-16 title went to Cian Murphy sprinting past his brother Jake in the last 10 metres (Menapians) with Edward Kinsella of SBR in third.

After day two the scores look like this:

United Striders 663, Menapians 851, SBR 881, Bree 909, DMP 927, Enniscorthy 962, St Pauls 1010, Taghmon 1035, Macamores 1063, Adamstown 1076.

Wexford People

Most Read