Sunday 17 December 2017

Wanderers make cup exit

The Wexford Wanderers Senior men's XV followed a previously travelled path to Roscrea to face the local side in the second round of the Bank of Ireland Provincial Towns Cup on Sunday.

Roscrea 14 Wexford Wanderers 8

Once again after the opening round heroics against fellow Division 2B side Athy, whom Wanderers have faced off with four times this season, the fixture had déjà vu written all over it as they faced Division 2B leaders Roscrea for the third time, with a final league meeting scheduled for next Sunday at Park Lane.

In the previous meetings Roscrea came away with the honours after hard-fought 12-3 and 24-15 wins at Park Lane and Streamstown respectively. The home side started with an early penalty kick which set the tone for the contest before young Colm O Corcora levelled with a penalty on seven minutes.

Midway through the period after Wanderers were awarded a penalty, the referee reversed the decision, handing the ball and the initiative to Roscrea who kicked into the corner. From the resulting play they managed to score a try to lead 8-3 at the break.

In the second period the match became a game of two kickers as both sides were awarded two penalties. Wanderers' kicks failed to make the mark while Roscrea kept the scoreboard rising upwards.

Before the final whistle the Wexford backs managed to make a breakout from deep in Wanderers' own half from which O Corcora scored a consolation try. The final score was 14-8 to Roscrea, a much tighter contest than previously this season, and to anyone wavering, certainly a call to arms to all supporters to watch the re-match next Sunday at 3 p.m. as Roscrea seek to secure the league title and Wanderers bid to cement their Division 2B status at Park Lane.

In other news, the second XV are on the road again next Saturday with a trip to face DLSP in Kilternan at 1 p.m. The game will be of intense interest to one man in the club in particular, with current Wanderers President Brendan Culliton having divided sympathies, and we certainly hope not loyalties as in a former rugby career he played with and was indeed President of DLSP.

Kick-off for this fixture has been re-arranged so that Wexford players will make it back to Park Lane in time to see Ireland hopefully hammer England in the Six Nations.

Please follow our updates on our various social media channels for the most up to date information.

Team: Gavin Doyle, Kevin Birney, James Byrne, John Turner, Darragh Keogh, Tom Brennan, Luke Roche, Aidan Stewart, Michael Bolger, Corey Carty, Robbie Kenny, Seán O Corcora (capt.), Colm O Corcora, Noel Richards, Paul Gannon. Subs. - Richie Morris, Martin Whelan, Kevin Roche, Cillian McConville, Tom Barry.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links