Wednesday 24 January 2018

Benfica on song

Seaview Utd. left singing the blues

Seaview United’s Eimear Mullan (right) tussles with Sarah Wall of Benfica
Seaview United’s Eimear Mullan (right) tussles with Sarah Wall of Benfica
The vanquished Seaview United squad

Goals scored at three very important points of the game proved the difference between these very competitive sides in the Wexford Women's Cup final in New Ross Celtic on Sunday.

Benfica 3 Seaview United 0

Although Benfica were deserving of their win, the three-goal margin flattered the Waterford side. A well-struck shot from Lisa Dower just two minutes into the game gave Benfica the lead when she lifted the ball over 'keeper Emily Doyle's outstretched arms and into the net.

Seaview reacted well to this early blow and practically dominated the next 40 minutes as they launched attack after attack on the Benfica goal but found the experienced defence impossible to break down.

Sheena Murphy, Eimear Mullan and Bríd Kehoe all had chances but couldn't find the net, and on the stroke of half-time, Sharon Brown found herself with room in the penalty area and slotted the ball past the 'keeper.

Seaview would have felt unfortunate to be 2-0 down but they must have thought the Gods were against them when, three minutes into the second-half, Mary Therese O'Neill placed a well-struck shot inside the post and increased that advantage to three.

To their credit, Seaview never gave up and continued to press for at least a consolation goal, but Benfica used all their experience to keep them at bay and Sheena Murphy's shot rebounding off the post was as close as they came.

It was Benfica's experience over Seaview's youthfulness that saw the cup head across the bridge in New Ross for the sixth time, with Lisa Dower, Brianne O'Connor and player of the match Martina Cashin all playing very well.

Bríd Doyle, Kellie Mullan and Stephanie Foley all worked hard for a Seaview side which has a great future if that team remains together.

League Chairman Daire Doyle presented the well-deserved winners with their cup to spark off a night of celebration in Waterford.

Benfica F.C.: Clodagh McGrath, Martina Cashin, Zoe Power, Melissa Crowley, Sarah Wall, Lisa Dower, Brianne O'Connor, Mary Therese O'Neill, Leanne O'Reilly, Sharon Brown, Tess Leahy, Beserta Ajeti, Audrey Maher, Jean Dooley, Ciara Ryan, Sinéad Flynn.

Seaview United: Emily Doyle, Mairéad O'Shea, Fiona Rowe, Bríd Doyle, Sinéad Rowe, Aisling Mullan, Sheena Murphy, Méabh Kehoe, Eimear Mullan, Bríd Kehoe, Stephanie Foley, Kellie Mullan, Sandra Foley, Cáit Hayes.

Referee: Andrew Nolan. Assistants: Pat Sinnott, Aaron O'Neill.

Wexford People

Promoted Links