Tuesday 23 January 2018

Bobbi's goal vital for Rangers

Courtown, Cloughbawn and Curracloe claim titles too

Rosslare Rangers, winners of the Under-10 Cup, with their coach, Ken Power
Rosslare Rangers, winners of the Under-10 Cup, with their coach, Ken Power
Courtown Hibs, Under-12 Premier Division and Cup Winners, with coach, Alison Robertson
Curracloe United, who lost the Under-10 Cup final, with coaches Stan O’Leary and Michael Redmond

Rosslare Rangers 1, Curracloe United 0 (AET): One of the best games of the schoolgirls cup final day in St. Joseph's on Saturday was the youngest age group (Under-10) which saw Premier champions Curracloe United up against a very strong Rosslare Rangers side.

In front of a very large and enthusiastic crowd, the girls showed no nerves and produced an excellent final that shows the future of the game in the county is very strong.

Some good goalkeeping and defending from both sides saw no goals in normal time, and the game went to extra-time where Rangers' prolific goalscorer Bobbi Culleton grabbed the only goal to give her side their first under-age trophy.

Despite Curracloe going close in the second-half of extra-time, Rangers held on with their captain, Abigail Clarke, collecting the player of the match trophy.

Under-12 - Courtown Hibs 1, Ballindaggin 1 (AET, Courtown won on penalties):

These sides opened the finals programme in St. Joseph's and it took just 20 seconds for the first goal to be scored when Katie Bates struck to give Ballindaggin the lead.

It was shortlived as, three minutes later, some good passing movement from midfield saw player of the match, Ella Maree, score to bring Hibs level. The game built in intensity for the remaining 37 minutes of normal time, with Orlaith Kehoe going close for Balindaggin and Amy Robertson almost scoring for Courtown.

Both sides created chances in extra-time but both goalkeepers, Emilia Fortune (Ballindaggin) and Jean Kavanagh-Doyle (Courtown Hibs), were in excellent form and conceded no further goals.

The game then went to penalties where Hibs held their nerve to complete the league and cup double as they had also pipped Ballindaggin for the Premier title.

Under-14 - Cloughbawn AFC 5, Tombrack United 0:

Premier champions Cloughbawn went into this final as odds-on favourites against Division 2 runners-up Tombrack United but, despite enjoying plenty of possession, they found their young rivals difficult to break down.

Some good defending kept Cloughbawn at bay until just before half-time, with Katie O'Toole in the Tombrack goal putting in an excellent performance. However, just before the break, Emma Clarke was on hand to tap the ball to the net after Katie had made two point-blank saves, and it proved to be a critical goal at an important time.

Tombrack did create chances in the second-half but the Cloughbawn defence held firm and as the game wore on, Cloughbawn became more dominant. A second goal from Emma Clarke as well as goals from Bríd Madigan, Anais Curran and Tara Doyle saw them complete the league and cup double. The winners' Emma Clarke collected a well-deserved player of the match award.

Under-16 - Curracloe United 6, Bunclody AFC 2:

These Premier sides produced a better Ger Dunne Under-16 Cup final than the scoreline suggests and Curracloe's clinical finishing proved the deciding factor.

The game was evenly matched up until midway through the first-half when two almost identical goals from Dearbhla Doyle in three minutes saw Curracloe take a 2-0 lead.

Britney Conroy did pull one back for Bunclody just before the break but a strong second-half performance from Curracloe saw them race into a 6-1 lead with goals from Siobhan Doolan and a hat-trick from player of the match Jessie Harding.

Britney Conroy scored a spectacular long-range effort to pull one back for Bunclody but Curracloe held on to retain their cup and lift it for the fifth time in six years.

Under-18 - Curracloe United 0, Killenagh Wanderers 0 (AET, Curracloe won on sudden death penalties):

These teams have produced some exciting, hard-fought encounters in recent seasons and this final in Moyne Rangers on Tuesday was no different.

Both sides are very familiar with each other at this point and from an early stage it was obvious that chances were going to be at a minimum.

Despite the lack of goals, the game was a closely-contested battle although neither team was able to impose itself on the game, eventually going to extra-time and finally penalties where Curracloe held their nerve to become the first team to retain this particular cup.

League committee member Tom 'Flash' Dunne was on hand to present the cup to the winning captain, with Leanne Corrigan collecting the player of the match award.

Under-10 Division 1 league semi-final: New Ross Celtic 7, Taghmon United 2.

Under-10 Division 2A league semi-final: St. Cormac's 1, Corach Ramblers 3.

Under-10 Division 2B league semi-final: Bridge Rovers 1, Cushinstown 1 (Bridge won on penalties); Adamstown 5, St. Joseph's 1.

Under-12 Division 1 league: New Ross Town 0, St. Leonards 7.

Under-12 Division 3 league play-off: New Ross Celtic 4, All Blacks 0.

Under-14 Premier Division relegation play-off: Kilmore Unired 2, Bunclody 1.

Under-14 Division 1 league: New Ross Town 1, Gorey Rangers 3.

Under-16 Division 2 league: Gorey Rangers 4, Campile United 3.

Gaynor Cup semi-final: Rosslare Rangers 1, Cushinstown A.F.C. 2.

Tues, May 19

Under-10 Division 2B semi-final (7.00): Seaview United v. Rosslare Strand.

Weds, May 20

Under-10 Division 1 semi-final (6.45): Gorey Rangers v. Rosslare Rangers.

Under-14 Division 1: Gorey Rangers v. North End United (6.30); Courtown Hibs v. Campile United (7.30).

Sun, May 24

Gaynor Cup final (1.00): Cushinstown A.F.C. v. St. Cormac's (venue TBA).

Division 2B (11.00): Seaview United 'B' v. Rosslare Rangers.

Wexford People

Promoted Links