Tuesday 20 August 2019

Classy CBS book their place in All-Ireland final

Wexford CBS 2 Douglas CS 1

Aaron Roche celebrates after scoring the winning goal
Aaron Roche celebrates after scoring the winning goal

Wexford CBS continued their tremendous run in the Bank of Ireland FAI Schools First Year Boys National Cup when overcoming Douglas Community School in dramatic fashion in their semi-final in Kilrush Park in Dungarvan on Thursday.

The Slaneysiders were much the better side in the opening 45 minutes and created the lion's share of the chances, but it wasn't until six minutes from time that they made the breakthrough when Eoin Hartigan hit the back of the net after Kyle Clancy's header from a Jack Foley corner had come back off the bar.

The lead was a deserved one but unfortunately Wexford couldn't hold on to their advantage for too long, with their rivals hitting back in the 90th minute. Douglas delivered a free-kick into the Wexford box and centre-half Darragh Carley unfortunately steered the ball into his own net.

Extra-time looked to be on the cards but the Boker boys, managed by John Nolan and Pádraig Whitty, had other ideas and almost restored their advantage immediately, but Douglas goalkeeper Michael O'Neill did well to deny Jack Wilde.

However, Wexford did grab the winner moments later, when Jack Foley's delivery was helped on by Wilde and Aaron Roche steered the ball to the back of the net.

Wexford were much the better team in the first-half with Jack Wilde, Aaron Roche and Jack Foley all having efforts on goal, but they couldn't break the deadlock.

Douglas improved after the interval and created a few chances, but Wexford certainly deserved their win and can now look forward to an All-Ireland final meeting with St. Joseph's of Galway in Leah Victoria Park in Tullamore on Wednesday at 1 p.m.

WEXFORD CBS: Cian Roche, John O'Sullivan, Callum Corcoran (capt.), Darragh Carley, Jack Foley, John Hore, Eoin Hartigan, Michael Mackey, Kyle Clancy, Jack Wilde, Aaron Roche. Subs. - Josh Howlin for Wilde (48), Jack Mullan, Jack Dempsey, Eoin Doyle, Tommy Gallagher.

DOUGLAS COMMUNITY SCHOOL: Michael O'Neill, Dylan Cotter, Deri Delma, Conor Sheehy, Luke O'Leary, Jacob Jackson, Oran Crowe (capt.), Oscar McCarthy; Ger Sweeney, J.P. Linehan. Subs. - Stephen St. Ledger for Sweeney (48), Ugo Okonkwo for Cotter (55), Cotter for Okonkow (60), Guillaime Lucas, Gary Farakas, Fionn Crowley.

REFEREE: John Ferncombe (Waterford).

Wexford People

Most Read